June 1st – My New Challenge


Yikes! The new month snuck up on me and here I am without a defined challenge for this month! Or at least I don’t right this minute, but I’m hoping as the post progresses I’ll have talked myself into something I have at least a remote chance of following through on!

But as I’m working my way through that, I want to give you an update on a project I mentioned a couple of weeks ago – getting my blog in book form. My first book came yesterday and I’m in love! It is beautiful. I only did the first year (2011) because I wanted to see what it looked like in person before committing to doing the whole thing AND, it’s not cheap, so I need to spread it out a little so I don’t break the bank.

paperprojectday1-2-w

For the front cover I selected a picture of me from the year 2011

paperprojectday1-3-w

For the back cover I settled on my 1st mixed media piece, since delving into mixed media was my biggest accomplishment of the year.

paperprojectday1-7-w

The interior pages are copies of my blog including pictures. I’m just so thrilled with how it came out.

paperprojectday1-6-w

paperprojectday1-4-w

For any of you who have your own blogs, I would HIGHLY recommend backing your blog up with something like this! It just would be a shame to lose all those years of what amounts to a life journal, PLUS, it is an amazing feeling to see yourself in print, even if not another soul in the world sees it! Not to mention I have to admit I like reading my own writing, and it’s even more fun in an actual book than on-line.

So, just as I had hoped, my mind was processing my challenge problem as I typed, and I came up with the perfect solution for me…

I need cards, I’m working on art journals (notice that’s gone from journal to journalS) and I need to get some scrapbooking done, so this months challenge will be “paper crafting!” I’m committing to myself that I will do a paper project every day this month. With 3 different options, I should be able to keep myself engaged!

Today (in my spare time! Heeheehee!) I’ve added another base layout to my “Happy” journal, and come up with more ideas on things I want to add to the journal, including a saying I’ve modified to fit “happy” instead of “life,” several sayings that work into it, and some wise words I’ve discovered will increase my happiness quotient.

paperprojectday1-w

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I am amazed at how awesome it looks! I am definitely doing this the hard way and it’s taking for.e.ver. Your book looks great!!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Naomi. As good as it looks in the pictures, it’s even more beautiful in person. I’m very pleased, and will be doing the rest, too. I’m glad I discovered it before I had 8 years to do!

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a comment