EV Day #42 – Melk on the Danube


We are cruising on the Danube through Austria now. It is a beautiful stretch of the river.

Melk, Austria is the home of a huge baroque Benedictine Monastery, and a tour of it was on our schedule today. After seeing soooooo many lovely old buildings in the past 5 weeks, I’m kind of surprised that I continue to be awed, but I am.

It sits high on a hill, with an amazing view of the surrounding area.

melk1-w

 

melk19-w

 

melk18-w

 

melk17-w

 

melk16-w

 

melk15-w

 

melk14-w

 

melk6-w

 

 

melk13-w

 

melk12-w

 

 

melk11-w

 

melk10-w

I REALLY wanted this lighting fixture to come home and live with me…

melk9-w

melk8-w

melk5-w

meld4-w

melk3-w

melk7-w

melk2-w

melk20-w

Perhaps the most spectacular part of the Monastery was the library, the only room we saw where we were unable to take photographs. I could have spent hours photographing the old, frayed books. As it was, I was lining up the photos I would take in my mind’s eye…unbelievable.

This afternoon we continued cruising down the Danube. Stay tuned – I’ll add photos tomorrow, since I got a little crazy with photos today! Heeheehee!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a comment