Is It Obsession? Or…


just being really, really focused on what I’m doing and not wanting to stop?

I know I have an an addictive personality, and do the same thing over and over again. But is that really a bad thing? Obsessive is such a negative description of such a fun thing.

Right now my “obsessions” are Suduko and Gelli plate painting (and if I’m being completely accurate, naps and stuffing my face!)

In less than a week I’ve done 52 Soduko puzzles. I just started a new book, so the easy ones came first. I whipped through them, and am now working through the intermediate ones. I can’t put them down. I do “just one more” and I get through it fast and want to beat my last time, so I tell myself “just one more.” You know how that goes!
suduko-w

Well, I guess that’s inaccurate – I CAN put them down, because I’ve done nearly as many gelli prints. So I’m stopping at least long enough to play with my paints!

gelli-w

Seriously, as many as this looks like, it’s not even all of them.

I even had a gelli plate play date (say that 3 times fast!) with a new friend. It was fun to teach her how to use it and watch her giggle with the results, just like I did***do. Pretty sure she’s going to buying one for herself!

I finally made myself clean up the plate and put it away for awhile. I’m out of white ink, and dangerously close to being out of black. So whether I like it or not, I’m going to have to do something else for awhile.

Nah, I can add some hand-painting to the backgrounds, and maybe do a little stamping.

And I could always start making entries in my planner/journal.

Or not. I think I’m stuck again. Maybe I’ll just have lunch again and then take a nap!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. Hello Janet. How nice to “meet” you through Lindsay’s NLWM blog feature. Looks like you are having lots of creative fun. I must get back to my mailings. With this creative bunch it is easy to fall behind very quickly. Creative Bliss…

    Reply
  2. Kerry Barrasso

    Hi Janet ….Love your blog & the gelli print you sent for NLWM

    Reply
  3. Hi Janet, just stopping by to check out your blog. I know what you mean about the gelli plate, it is totally addictive. And for me, it’s Freecell on the computer rather than Sudoko, but I know what you’re saying, oh yes! 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment