RSS Feed

Yep, I’m Organizing!


Not the studio. I’ll get there eventually, but right now I’m working on photos.

Yep, like the rest of my physical world, they are pretty much a mess. You’re not surprised, are you?

My computer has been running pretty slow for awhile now, and I think part of the problem is I have over 15,000 photos in iPhoto. I didn’t think I had a lot of duplicates, but when I really got in there looking around, I realized that somehow I’d accumulated a MESS of them! PLUS, I had some events where I had literally 20 of roughly the same shot! Go figure. And on top of that I had taken a lot of photos for a laugh, and I didn’t really NEED them. So, last night, I worked for hours thinning them out.

At first it was hard. Some photos (especially of the kiddles) are just so darn cute that even ones with just small nuances are hard to toss. But, I put on my big girl panties, and started sending them to the trash. The more I did it, the easier it got. Just in case I got cold feet, I emptied the trash from time to time. Out went loads of the same bear over and over, slight variations in more sunsets than you can imagine, and the same flowers in the garden season after season. And yes, some of the kids. But really. Some were so similar you could hardly tell the difference!

I’m sitting at just a little over 14,000 now, and in the grand scheme of things, probably not a lot, but for me, it’s huge!

I don’t know if “organize” is ever going to stop being a dirty word in my world, but I’m trying with all my might to embrace it, and I’m having SOME success! At least in some areas.

In the studio? Not so much. But I’m working up to it!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

