Kids and Gelli (no NOT Jelly!)


Today the girls and I finally sat down to do our monthly ATCs for our Fly Girl ATC Swap Group for the month of March.

The theme for this month was “green.” That leaves open a multitude of possibilities, but we opted to just play with the color green. I’ve been wanting to introduce them to the gelli plate, and this seemed like a good project for trying it out.

I got out a variety of green paints, then some pens, chalk, and gelatos, plus stencils and stamps, and away we went.

gellisetup-w

girlsgelli-w

The girls did their backgrounds on larger sheets of paper. I then cut them down for them into the ATC size (2 1/2″ x 3 1/2″) and they began adding layers.

hannahgreen-w

beagreen-w

Hannah stamped and added a few “stitches” with black pen, but she was afraid to doodle. Bea also stamped and added a little bit of white accents, but wasn’t willing to try doodling either. Both of them were afraid they’d wreck their beautiful backgrounds.

greenkids-w

This was my first attempt at adding doodling. It’s certainly not perfect, but it was fun, and I think I’ll improve with practice.

greenme-w

Both the girls agreed that using the gelli plate was the most fun part of the project and are anxious to do it again!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. This looks like so much fun. I can’t wait to get mine out, but it may have to wait awhile. And the girls seemed to make some fun backgrounds, as well as your doodles, something I simply can’t seem to do.

    Reply
  2. Luvcreatincards

    I have just found you via Pinterest. The prints you and the girls have made are gorgeous I really love the layers and various tones that you have achieved. The girls certainly have a great eye for creating with their hello plate, they must have been delightd with the results and you must be very proud of them too. Thank you for sharing their beautiful creations. I’m delighted to have found your blog and am looking forward to reading more of your posts to.
    Warmest wishes from across the miles in FraNce.
    Susanne

    Reply
    • Thank you for your lovely note, Susanne! We were just in Paris for the day the end of September, and can hardly wait to get back to your beautiful country. I look forward to getting to know you.

      Reply

Leave a comment