RSS Feed

Vaccuming -or- Coping With Overwhelm


How do you cope with being overwhelmed?

I vacuum! How crazy is that?

I have a LOT to do this week. It was all rolling around in my mind and I felt pretty good about meeting my deadlines, but I was afraid I might be forgetting something. So I started jotting down notes, and the longer the list got, the more I realized I might be in trouble. The overwhelm set in – I started to panic.

So what did I do?

No, I did not get started on the list. I got out the Dyson and started vacuuming a rug that didn’t really need it.

vacuum-w

That is how I roll.

I don’t know if it is the noise that relaxes me or just doing SOMETHING. But I do it every time I reach this point. Every. Time.

Once the room was vacuumed, I was able to settle down and get to work checking things off the list.

But I did have to take a moment to laugh at myself.

Am I the only one? Or do you have a little off-kilter way of managing your overwhelm?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

6 responses »

  1. No I clean too when I am overwhelmed – I think setting my environment in order helps me feel organized and relaxed. My husband loves it when I am over-scheduled – I turn into a real housewife!

    Reply
  2. I do the exact same thing. We even have the same vacuum! I think it’s that outer order creates inner order, or something like that. Maybe that’s just what creative geniuses do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

