Maybe It’s The Attitude…


I think I’ve been going about this “project completion” thing all wrong.

Instead of looking at my projects in a positive light, I’ve been looking at them as “green frogs.” You, know, eat a green frog first thing every day and no matter what the whole rest of your day throws at you, it won’t be as bad? In other words, do the things you REALLY don’t want to do first, and the rest of your list will look more pleasant.

 

green_frog-w

It’s all in the attitude.

And maybe my bad attitude has been part of the reason why I am so unable to get myself to complete them.

All of these half-finished projects lit my fire at one time, or I wouldn’t have started them. None of them are something I HAD to do. I was excited, started them, then something changed. Now I’m looking at them as if they are green frogs.

So, unless I want to face mountains of unpleasant tasks, I need to remember what it was about them that excited me, then jump in with the same enthusiasm I started with to finish them.

Sounds like a plan. Don’t you think?

I know this attitude thing works in a LOT of circumstances. In fact most. If you can’t change the circumstance, just shift your attitude toward it. I don’t see why the same shift in attitude can’t work in this case. I’m going to try.

I’ll keep you posted.

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I read somewhere to do the yucky task first thing in the morning and get it out of the way while you have the most energy. Then you can move on with your day, knowing it’s done.

    Reply

Leave a comment