RSS Feed

Just Loving Brittish T.V.


I am hopelessly addicted to all things British. Especially Masterpiece Theater’s Downton Abbey, Mr. Selfridge, and now The Paradise.

the+paradise+bbc+masterpiece+emile+zola

The Paradise is very much like Mr. Selfridge, but it is as much about Denise, a clerk at the shop, Paradise, as it is about the owner. One of her co-workers accused her of being hot for the owner, and my favorite line was, “I don’t want to marry him, I want to BE him!” Gotta love her. If you want to catch up, it is still on the PBS website to view on your computer.

Mr. Selfridge is now taping it’s second season and will be returning to PBS in 2014 – no date I’ve been able to discover as of yet. Season One is out on DVD, and WELL worth the price. I’ve already watched the whole thing 3 times!

The crown jewel, Downton Abbey is in season four in the UK. Episode 5 airs Sunday.

While many are chomping at the bit waiting for it to start in the US in January, I am not that patient, and have been watching it on the computer since it started four weeks ago. After the 3rd week my go to station was not cooperating, so with help from my niece (thank you Joanna!) found a way in the back door, and I am blissing out watching it early.

The funny thing is, it doesn’t ruin the US debut for me. I will enjoy it just as much the second time through as I did the first. Just like I did the third season, when I discovered (again through Joanna) that you could watch on the internet in the US without waiting. Gotta love the internet.

Still haven’t seen a reasonable explanation as to why they don’t show it every where at the same time.

Anyway. You can find me on Sunday nights glued to my t.v. and loving every second of both The Paradise AND Downton! Hope you’re joining me!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

