My One Little Word 2013


New Year’s Resolutions seem to last for about 5 minutes, so I had pretty much given up on them. Then I heard about “One Little Word” and decided I might have better luck with a broad concept than I did with resolutions.

My “One Little Word” seems to find me, which is wonderful. Late in the year I start paying attention to the words that come into my world with some frequency and one will almost miraculously attach itself to me.

In 2012 that word was create. I had a charm made saying “create” and wore it around my neck almost daily, reminding me of my intention to do a lot of creating.

Say#9AEDMcharm-w

I posted a check in with my progress here, so you can go back and get a sampling of the things I did, should you feel inclined! I ended a little on the slow side, but for most of the year I remained very focused.

In October my 2013 word found me…”happy.”

I’d been having a hard time on a number of fronts. Mistakes, disappointments – some of my own making, some not. I had concluded that having a creative business was not in my future and was feeling sad (and even a little resentful) about it.

Then on a family trip to San Francisco, I stumbled on a book called “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin. I curled up in a chair with the book and within a few minutes, I knew the concept had applications in my life. I bought it, and within the time it took to read the first four chapters I had come up with the framework for my own happiness project which will include monthly exercises in the form of an art journal, thus combining the nuts and bolts work of identifying my “happy” with being artistic for the whole year.

Within days my “Notes From the Universe” included a message about being happy, as did my “Daily Truths” from Brave Girls…seemed like every time I turned around, I was seeing the word “happy” in a context that applied to me. I began to realize that although I can’t have the creative business I so long to have, I need to find a way to recognize the “happy”  in what I CAN have.

And so “happy” became my word for this next year.

In 2012 I bought myself a number of metal dies for stamping my own charms, and will do one for my word, so once again I can hold it close to me all year.

2013charm-w

I will also do some art that encompasses sayings about happiness, and try to figure out a way to include “happy” in my “26 Angels” efforts, as well. I will be blogging about my progress on these fronts throughout the year.

I’m not saying goodbye to my 2012 word. My plan is that each year as a new word is added, the old word will have become embedded in my life! So in 2013 I will be happy AND creating!

I am a proud part of a group of wildly creative women. We call ourselves the Fly Tribe, and I’d like to invite you to visit their websites to see their words for 2013. In addition to our Fly Tribe, you’ll find stories from other creatives, as well.

2013WordHop

Click to access Word hop 2013

Just scroll down the page to find dozens of blogs to visit at your leisure. Happy 2013! Hopefully you will be inspired to adopt your OWN word.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

28 responses »

  1. i love your charms and that you are carrying your words forward 🙂

    Reply
  2. Awesome word and a great idea to carry last years word through to this years.

    Reply
  3. I love it that you’ve now got 2 words on the go… Fascinating how the Universe conspires to show us signs and signals when we are right on track! Wishing you much Happiness and Creativity in 2013! C x

    Reply
  4. The necklace idea is great! I may have to steal it!

    Reply
  5. good word Janet! happy new year to you!

    Reply
  6. I really love your word and the fact that you don’t turn your back on last year’s word but carry it with you. That deserves some thought! thanks!

    Reply
  7. I love how the word kept finding and nudging you! Wishing you a year full of happiness!

    Reply
  8. Your charms are beautiful. I loved reading about how your words have always found you. ❤ *Happy* 2013 to you!!! ❤

    Reply
  9. I love your word. And I am totally checking out that book! It sounds perfect. ❤ Have a wonderfully HAPPY 2013!

    Reply
  10. Hi Janet- what a great idea! Carrying your word forward. I was thinking I kind of hate letting my word from last year go, so maybe I won’t!! “Happy” 2013!!

    Reply
    • Yay! It’s such a shame to put so much effort into a year, then turn your back on it! Much nicer to incorporate it into your life and build off of it for the next year!

      ________________________________

      Reply
  11. Happy you went with Happy! Ha! Couldn’t resist. This is a great word to use to guide your year Janet. We all strive for happiness everyday. It comes and goes and that is normal. Keep up posted!

    Reply
    • I THINK nearly every day has an element of happy in it. That is what I want to concentrate on. There is so much sadness in the world, some of it self-inflicted, some of it beyond our control. I just want to learn to recognize those morsels, so that even in the midst of the sadness, I can find the happy to fall back on.

      ________________________________

      Reply
  12. Love the concept of one word building on another as the years go by. Great post, Janet. Wishing you great buckets of happiness in 2013!

    Reply
  13. Love your 2012 charms! If I had made one, I could use it again this year — same word. I wish you all the best “happy” in the new year.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Connie! I’m off to a slow start, but still have high hopes for a “happyful” 2013. (I love making up words!) Create was a good one, and I’m glad it will be staying with me…hope it is a good one for you, too.

      ________________________________

      Reply
  14. Wishing you the best in finding happiness for 2013. Love your word and charm.

    Reply

Leave a comment