RSS Feed

My Least Favorite Part of Christmas


I love decorating for Christmas (you probably already knew that!) But there is a price to be paid for decorating. After the New Year, you have to un-decorate. I know, not necessarily, but I’ve found that my guests get offended by Christmas decorations still up in February. And yes, I have personal experience on that front.

I’ve put in quite a bit of work un-decorating, but I’m still faced with this.

Christmasmess1-w

…and this.

Christmasmess5-w

In 2011 I mentioned that the lights on my pre-lit tree were going out, so I added extra strings of lights and kicked the can down to 2012. Then in 2012 I couldn’t face the idea of removing all the lights and starting over, so I added even more strings of light and called it a day. But when even the 4 year old noticed there were a lot of lights out, I decided I needed to do something about it.

Then, when I actually started to take the tree down today, I started negotiations with myself on whether or not I should fake my way through another year… FORTUNATELY (I think)  the grown-up me overrode the child me, and started taking the lights off so I HAD to step up and do it right.

After an hour of untwisting little wires and removing lights, I had a little tiny bit of the tree done.

Christmasmess2-w

Christmasmess3_w

Christmasmess4-w

I can’t even IMAGINE how long it’s going to take to get the whole thing done, but I guess it doesn’t need to be done overnight.

I came away from the experience with a great deal of respect for the people who put the lights on these trees for a living (and you can bet the farm that it isn’t Americans!)  I also am pretty sure if I had to do this hour after hour, day after day, week after week, month after month, year after year, I’d shoot myself and get it over with. There is not enough money on the planet to make this kind of work worthwhile, and you can bet they are making next to nothing.  Makes me kinda sad, actually.

Anyway. I’m making progress. This is a good thing. But my house is going to remain a disaster area for several more days. This is NOT a good thing. 2013 cannot officially begin until order is restored. It didn’t get done today. And tomorrow isn’t looking too good either. So. I’ve lost a week of the year already. Chances are I’m going to lose another. Doesn’t seem fair somehow. Shouldn’t people who do a lot of decorating for Christmas get an extra couple of weeks in their year?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Amen, sister! A couple of weeks at least!

    Reply
    • But it’s like coming home after a wonderful vacation when you weren’t ready to leave! It feels like a much longer process than putting it up!

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

