Old Dogs/New Tricks


Well, guess what? You CAN teach an old dog new tricks, after all.

My daughter decided that she wanted to go ocean paddle boarding, and that it would be great if I went, too. I wasn’t thrilled with the idea, but Bea was going to give it a try and I figured someone ought to be there to play on the beach with her if she either couldn’t do it or changed her mind about trying. (Somewhere in the back of my mind I must have thought one of those things would surely happen ‘cuz I was pretty sure I couldn’t!)

So, we met our guide at Makenna Landing and got started.

paddleboard1-w

And guess what? Not only did I do it, we all did!

paddleboard2-w

 Bea was amazing! She popped right up like she’d been paddling her whole life!

paddleboard3-w

Mama looked like a pro!

paddleboard4-w

Daddy is super athlete, so we knew he’d do fine!

paddleborad7-w

Hannah, too, looked like she was born on a board!

paddleboard5-w

And, yeah, even this old dog learned a new trick! And LIKED it!

I have to give our guide/teacher, John, a lot of credit. He was super supportive and patient. And he gave easy to understand instructions. He also pointed out how many similarities there are with yoga. I think that perhaps our visits to the yoga studio made it easier for me to be successful!

When our time was up we were all pretty tired, but we had a blast and are anxious to do it again next year!

We got silly in our last shot!

paddleboard6-w

Mr. Tattered gently chided me that my shakka was actually pointed the wrong way, but oh, well, like I said, old dog, new tricks…I’ll get it right next time. And he may even try it with us next trip!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a comment