Ta-Da! Completed Handprint Ornaments


Well, I did it. I actually competed a project. And in a timely manner. Yeah, I’m doing a little happy dance here.

I started by painting the kid’s hands with white paint, then placing them on the colored ball to leave a handprint. They were pretty messy, so I went back in and filled in empty spaces with extra paint, then added Delta’s “snow-tex” for some texture and added interest.

Today I finished them off with painted scarves, hats, carrot noses, eyes and mouths, and used markers to draw on arms and define the scarves a little, add their names, and a few snowflakes…easy, peasy!

snowman5-w

 

snowmanorn3-w

 

snowmanorn2-w

 

snowmanorn1-w

 

snowmanorn4-w

I can’t tell you how good it feels to have finished them. Not because I wasn’t enjoying it and wanted it to be over, but because it’s been awhile since I finished a project that took more than a day to complete! I’ve gotten REALLY bad at getting distracted by shiny objects, and losing interest, only to have the components get brushed aside as I move on to another project.

This proves I can do it if I set my mind to it, something I plan to do more of.

More on that tomorrow.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Good for you. I like your new upbeat attitude. I hope to see more art coming from you, soon. BTW, these ornaments are gorgeous and FUN.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 30 DIYs to Make Handprint Ornaments | Guide Patterns

  3. Pingback: Craft: 30 Ways to Make Handprint Ornaments – CrochetingHearts.org

Leave a comment