RSS Feed

My One Little Word – 2015


I sorta can’t believe I’m even thinking about it already, as I haven’t had a stellar relationship with my word for 2014. But, December 1st marks the end of the year as far as I’m concerned. With getting ready for Christmas, there’s almost no chance of anything else getting accomplished, so if I haven’t done something by now, the chances of it getting done by the “official” end of the year are slim and his buddy, none.

But I digress.

Don’t know what “One Little Word” means? I’ve had a hard time determining the absolute origins, but my earliest recollection is from scrapbooker Ali Edwards (and she has now registered the trademark!) It is a focus on one word, in lieu of the old-fashioned “New Year’s Resolutions” that we all know are doomed to failure in a matter of weeks, if not minutes! Ali’s program comes with prompts and support in staying with it during the year, but you can easily go it alone.

Spending a whole year focusing on a concept distilled down to a single word is just easier to manage. And theoretically, after enough years, all the things that seem to end up on our old lists could be addressed in a longer lasting way.

2012 was my first year to do One Little Word, and I did a GREAT job with “Create.” It was the first year in a long time I felt like I had spent enough time creating. I ended the year on a high, and ready to build on my word.

say9aedmcharm-w

In 2013 I chose “Happy.” Not because I felt un-happy, but because I wanted to make sure I was constantly aware of that happiness, and making it my word seemed like a good way to do that. I didn’t complete the journal I started to document my happiness, but my goal of thinking about it often was met. This journal has gone to live on the Island of Unfinished Projects (I’ll talk about that a bit more in a few minutes…)

happinessjournal2-w

This year (2014) I felt the need to get my sorry self organized, so chose “Organize” as my word. But, it was a mixed bag. I started off really good, but the more time passed, the more I slipped back into old habits. As of this writing, I’m better organized than I was the first of the year, but not as far along as I’d hoped to be. Just realized I never came up with a “visual” for “organize” like I did with “create” and “happy…” Wonder if that contributed to not following through so well???

Anyway, as I was looking around my pig-sty studio I noticed that many of the things that are adding clutter are unfinished (or even not started!) projects that I was once so excited about. It dawned on me that I need to figure out a way to get myself to either hold onto that excitement long enough to get the projects done, or not even buy the stuff in the first place!

So, that is going to be the direction I’m going with my new word. I’m not sure if it will be “complete” or “finish” or if there is a better word out there that means the same thing. But, the concept, regardless of what the actual word ends up being, will build on all my previous words. In order to get the projects off my plate, I’ll be creating. Which will add to my both my happiness AND my level of organization. It’s a natural, don’t you think???

I mentioned the Island of Unfinished Projects…obviously it isn’t REALLY an island – it’s my “studio.” It’s where all the projects go when I lose interest in them. Or hit a snag I can’t overcome. Or any one of a dozen other excuses I have for abandoning projects and going on to something else.

I’m going to try to attach yet another “project” to this year’s word. Some visual way of being accountable for “completing” things. Not sure what it will look like yet, but at least I have my WORD.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I think finish is an excellent choice – and probably one most of us “creatives” could stand to focus on. I know I certainly could, I am still working on projects from over 2 years ago – sometimes (especially this year) life just gets in the way. When I actually get down to working on them they are as exciting as I remember – but getting that motivation to restart is tough right now. Good luck with whatever word you eventually decide on 🙂

    Reply
  2. I only wish mine were only 2 years old…I hate to even put ages on them! Thanks for the best wishes. I’m going to NEED them!

    Reply
  3. My mom’s word for the past year was “finish” and it really helped her keep in mind that before beginning something new, she needed/wanted to plow through a bunch of unfinished ones. She did it! You can too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

