Letting Our Light Shine


I started this post over a week ago, having taken a beautiful picture of the sun coming through the trees while I sat watching Hannah’s soccer practice. I didn’t have a good feel for what I wanted to say, other than that it would be about our inner light.

light-w

Since then I have seen a post by my friend Liv Lane on the subject, a picture and caption on Facebook…

light2-w

and a Biblical reference about not hiding our light under a bushel. It is like the universe is encouraging me to broach the issue, but leaving me hanging as to specifically HOW.

For starters, for me anyway, letting my light shine is not an easy thing to do sometimes.

I don’t know if I feel unworthy because I’ve made mistakes, or because it feels like I’m tooting my own horns. But I have a tendency to hide my light at times. I’m sure most of us do.

But the thing is, we all have light. Maybe some more than others, but we ALL have it, and if we all share it with others, how bright the world would be!

How sad to have so many people afraid to show their light out of a feeling of unworthiness. There is not a perfect person on the planet. We all have pockets of brilliance along with things we aren’t so proud of. The not so wonderful things we’ve said or done do not disqualify us from being a beacon to others in the areas where we are strong.

So. I’m going to try very hard to let my light shine. Join me?

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. on the wall opposite my desk is the Marianne Wilson quote “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others”. so let that light shine! It is there to remind me my gifts are gifts to be shared not hidden. The universe sends the work – my job is just to do it, not make value judgements.

    Reply
    • Thank you for this Deb. She may be on to something, and it’s certainly given me more to ponder! And your thoughts about not making value judgements is perfect!

      Reply
  2. “Your playing small does not serve the world.” I LOVE THAT!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment