It’s Complicated!


It was a funny movie, but it applies to life, as well.

Have you ever stopped to think about all the little thousands of things that need to be done to keep your life in some semblance of working order? I’m not talking about completely organized, running like clockwork, just run of the mill functioning. It’s really daunting how complicated life has gotten.

In spite of all my efforts to simplify, it just seems to get harder and harder to keep track of it all.

Changing sheets, pushing back cuticles, plucking eyebrows (before it turns into a uni-brow!) washing, drying, folding and putting away laundry (it’s that part between washing and drying that gets me in trouble – I HATE mildewy smelling laundry!) paying bills (on time!) dusting, emptying inside trash cans, taking trash out to the street on the right day, making grocery lists (and then remembering to take them with you!) going to all 4 stores necessary to buy the groceries, making sure I’ve got cash for the nail salon (since they quit taking credit cards – who does that?) gassing up the car before it’s running on fumes, turning the a/c down early enough so the house is cool before bedtime, turning off the overhead fan in the morning, refilling the soap and hand sanitizer dispensers (the downside of being ecologically aware and buying in bulk!) coloring my hair before the bright white in my part blinds anyone,  sanitizing sponges and dish cloths, cleaning toilets, using the squeegee on the inside of the shower, wiping toothpaste splashes off the mirrors, sweeping up the dust bunnies before they grow into adult-sized rabbits, returning library books prior to incurring late fees (whew! Barely made it this time!) changing the batteries in the smoke alarms BEFORE they start chirping at 0 dark 30 (okay, so it was 7am, but it FELT like the middle of the night!) – are you exhausted yet? I’ve barely made a dent. Dentist appointments, acupuncture treatments, hair cuts, lip waxing (I swear I could grow a better mustache than Mr. Tattered these days!) changing the oil in the cars, and maybe even washing them and vacuuming the interior once in a blue moon, dusting, catching a grandchild’s soccer game/recital etc. now and then, cleaning the garbage off the computer so it will run faster than a snail, changing light bulbs, wiping the tomato sauce off the inside of the microwave…yeah, you get the picture.

Then somehow on top of all the mundane things in life, we’re supposed to find time to enjoy our families, have a spiritual life, and find a fulfilling avocation. Oh, and some even need to work 40 hours a week!

I’m working on trying to figure out how to make it all happen, but like I said, it’s complicated.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. the library books get me every time – but one of the few perks as an adjunct faculty member is I don’t incur late fees at the college library – so now I try to use that library most! I really feel how complex and layered my life is on weeks like this one when I have been sick and none of my regular work gets done, then it really stacks up…

    Reply
    • Hey, every little advantage helps! Was talking about this with my mr. this morning, and we added in single parents – I mean how can you keep so many balls in the air day after day after day? It’s just crazy.

      Reply

Leave a comment