RSS Feed

On To The Central Serengeti


As we moved to the Central Serengeti, we found places where there was obviously much more rainfall, making for more greenery, and larger herds of animals, plus some we hadn’t seen before.

 

 

We saw lots of scavengers. They had a lot to choose from!

 

These aren’t your storks that bring babies! They’re scary looking!

 

Secretary bird

 

A baby vervet monkey. They were so cute!

 

 

 

 

 

Dik dik (the smallest of the antelopes)

One of our funny stories of the trip was “The great sandwich theft!” This cute vervet money came right up to the truck and I snapped a photo right before he jumped onto the back of it. I told our guide, and he looked around, but didn’t seem concerned. Then the monkey jumped into the open top, opened Mr. Tattered’s boxed lunch, grabbed his peanut butter and jelly sandwich and jumped out. I was so shocked I couldn’t even lift my camera to get a shot. I had no idea what he was doing, and I was afraid he was going to bite me! This was NOT his first rodeo. He knew EXACTLY what to do and was in and out in a matter of seconds.

 

male leopard

 

We’d already seen 4 of the “big five” animals (Lions, Leopards, Elephants, and Buffalo) and were hoping to see the last, the Rhino. We never got real close, but we DID see one from a distance. That counts, right?

The big 5, surprisingly to me, weren’t the most common ones, but the ones most “trophy” hunted. That distressed me. MY big 5 were the lions, giraffes, hippos, elephants and the….well, there’s probably a 10-way tie for 5th place. Heeheehee!

Tomorrow we head for Gnorongoro.

 

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Lots and lots of lions here. I really enjoyed the story of the monkey thief. He seemed to want that peanut butter protein! Hope Mr. Tattered got another sandwich. Cute photo of the thief, though.

    There were some cute birds and some scary birds, including the buzzards.

    Reply
  2. Wow. I am just overwhelmed with how much wildlife you saw. You saw like everything I could think you would want to see. What an amazing journey. I’ll be back for more views for sure. Hugs-Erika

    Reply

Leave a Reply

