RSS Feed

Ngorongoro


On this day we left the Serengeti and passed through Maasai land on our way to Ngorongoro, a giant crater at about the 9000ft level.

 

As we neared the crater, everything was covered by red dirt.

We saw more lions here than anywhere else, but aside from new birds, there were not a lot of “new” species. Which didn’t surprise me. I mean how many more can there be???

 

 

This one was taken with NO magnification. She was that close…

This is one of my favorite photos of the trip. The male lion has eaten his fill and looks like a guy in his recliner after a big meal. Notice the herd of wildebeest in the background who know they are safe for the moment!

The thing that DID surprise us was how cold it was at night. I mean, it’s at a high elevation, but for some reason that didn’t equate to cold to me. Had it not been for the hot water bottles they put in our beds, Mr. Tattered may have frozen to death. He got his, AND mine! I was comfortable. Heeheehee!

We did see a baby rhino (again, from a great distance, but hey, some people never see them at all, so we were grateful for what we got!)

One of my favorite stories, was the one about how the white-headed buffalo weavers find their mates. The males build the nests, then the females find the nest they like best, and accept the male who built it!

 

 

I guess if I had to give up one area we went to, this would be it, but it had its own charm, especially when it came to the lions. We did see a TON of them. So enjoy a few more photos, then tomorrow we’ll move onto Manyara Lake.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SaveSave

SaveSave

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I’m not sure why you would have given up this area. To me it is both fascinating and educational. I saw lots of animals and birds other than lions I enjoyed through your lens.

    Reply
    • Only if I HAD to! We were so exhausted when we got back to Amsterdam we were trying to figure out how we could have shortened the trip, particularly if people were to ask for a recommendation as to how to spend fewer days in Tanzania. So, according to the copious notes I took, there were fewer new things here. Seriously, if time and money aren’t issues, I would do exactly what we did, but add in a few days here and there to just hang out, sleep in and perhaps spend fewer hours “out” each day.

      Reply
  2. Clare DOCHERTY

    This whole trip looks unbelievable! Really enjoying all your photos. Clare x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

