RSS Feed

Out of Africa!


It’s hard to believe it’s been over a month since I last posted. But here we are.

The week before we left on vacation, I was up to my eyeballs getting ready to leave, and now we’ve been out of the country on the adventure of a lifetime!

It was one of those fabulous vacations that you are so glad you went on, but are so happy to have over!

Africa is an amazing place, but part of what makes it what it is, is that it is so hard to get to, and a challenge once you’re there, at least for us, shall we say, mature folks. Old age ain’t for sissies, and neither is going on safari for 12??? days, 8-10 hours a day, on dusty washboard roads, day after day, sleeping with one eye open because wild animals are right outside your hard-sided tent, trying to remember not to put your toothbrush under the tap because you’ll come down with God knows what intestinal distress, and getting it anyway because you forgot the fresh tomato sandwich you had every day (for lack of a better choice) are grown in the same filthy water.  Add to that, being vegetarian in a country that doesn’t really understand what that means, concerns over potential side effects of malaria medication, and packing up every 2 or three days to go to yet another camp…It was interesting, educational, thrilling, exciting, and HARD!

I’m pretty sure Mr. Tattered is through with expedition type vacations, but fortunately I can’t think of any I’m dying to take, so I think we’re okay. China, Cambodia and Vietnam (set for next fall) seem pretty tame in comparison.

So. Now I need to figure out how to convey the spirit of the trip in as few posts as I can, so I don’t bore you to death.

This was one of our sunset photos, one of my favorite non-animal photos of the trip!

Hopefully by tomorrow I’ll have a set of gorilla photos ready to go!

SaveSave

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Goodness, Janet, I wondered what had happened to you. Now I know. I look forward to seeing photos of what you saw in Africa. PLEASE DO bore me. Because you know I won’t ever be bored by your fabulous photos. Never, not ever.

    So glad you survived the hardships of the trip. Those expedition type trips can be grueling. I see from what you wrote, it won’t be a place I would want to visit anytime soon. But I do want to see Africa through your lens and your words. Please consider sharing as many photos as possible! I apparently live vicariously.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

