RSS Feed

When It’s Good It’s Great…


…but when it’s not? It can leave you pulling your hair out!

What are we talking about today?

Well, let’s start with from the beginning.

You remember a few days ago when I was talking about my frustration that you can only print photos on the Canon Selphy from an iPhone, not the computer? And that is problematic for me because so many of my photos are from my DSLR camera and stored on the laptop? And then as I was researching, discovered the newer model of Selphy WILL let you print from the computer, so I ordered it?

Well, it arrived today. A bigger than expected box with the Amazon logo that makes my heart go pitter patter.

I could hardly wait to open it and get to work!

Five  hours later I’m ready to either chuck it out the window or do myself great bodily harm.

For those of us who are not terribly tech savvy, words like “access point” need to be defined, so I didn’t get off to a good start. But before I went sideways, I kept my cool and figured it out. It took awhile, but I actually got the Selphy running and ready to print. I have to admit I felt a sick bit of pride that I was able to do it by myself!

Then one of my biggest frustrations with technology reared its ugly head. Not all apps are available for both iPhones AND laptops. PicStitch is one of them, and without a collage app, I’m high and dry. So to make the best of an bad situation I figured I’d try just printing 4x6s and see what happens.

It was not pretty. I can print, (not wirelessly, but connecting the computer to the printer with a cord, which is fine) but it was of a small portion of the side of my son’s head.

The 4×6 was just a small section of the much, much larger photo, and I’ll be darned if I can figure out how to make it small.  Still, I was keeping it together.

Grrrrrrrr. I researched for another hour or so, but couldn’t come up with an app that is NEARLY as user-friendly as PicStitch. Lots of trial and error.

So, plan (what are we on now, “C”?) I go back and try to set the printer up to just run from the phone, and I can’t get the phone to communicate with the printer. More trial and error and FINALLY I realize it is trying to connect to the old 910, instead of the new 1200. I was so frazzled I couldn’t figure THAT out. That’s when I came close to losing it. I just sat there for a few minutes, head in hands. Got myself under control, and set about starting over. MORE wasted time, but once again, got it working.

Mr Tattered thinks I should send it back, but I already told my daughter she can have the old one (and she’ll use it) so I’ll keep it, and keep trying to find an app that will do what I need it to do. Or, try moving photos from the computer to the phone. I’ll figure something out.

Anyway. Technology. Like I said, “When it’s good, it’s great, but when it’s not?” There’s not REALLY a bald patch, but it FEELS like there should be!

I have a stubborn streak a mile wide, and I don’t like to accept defeat, so I’m guessing you haven’t heard the last from me on this subject. But for today, I give.

Oh, and btw, Apple, I know I said it before, but I’ll say it again…if you want to come up with a sure-fire way to get me to pop for an iPhone 8, make it so you can download photos ON to it as easily as you can take them off!

 

 

SaveSave

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

