RSS Feed

Time Flies!


It seems like no matter what, fun, drudgery, hard work, time flies. The days are racing by at an alarming speed, and there just doesn’t seem to be any way to slow it down.

Time has become a very valuable commodity, and I find myself using it less wisely than I should.

I give myself conflicting messages –

“Be careful how you spend your day, for you are exchanging a day of your life for it.”

OR

“Wasting time isn’t wasted time, if you’re enjoying it.”

So what’s a person to make of that?

It’s like on the one hand I’m wanting to have something tangible to show for my time at the end of the day, and on the other, being perfectly content visiting friends and reading on Facebook, playing spider solitaire, word connect and toy blast (yes, I’m up to 4 different ways to waste time now) and puttering at nothing in particular.

And why am I thinking about this again, now?

I know the answer to that. My journal. Yep, it’s got me thinking about how I’m spending my time.

Now that I’m writing it down, I’m becoming more aware of just what a “time waster” I’ve become.

If it’s a day when there is focus (like going to the Jelly Belly Factory,) I’m fine.

But if it’s a day when I’m left to my own devices, I do a lot more time “wasting.” Most minutes are filled with SOMETHING. I can hardly STAND to just sit and do nothing. But, I’ve become complacent about what kind of “something” I’m doing. I’ve somehow convinced myself that as long as I’m doing something that involves even the slightest amount of concentration, it is exercising my brain, and therefore beneficial.

So I’m spending way too much “exercising my brain,” and not much else. What good does an exercised brain do when your body is WAAAAAY under exercised, your house is a disaster area, and unfinished projects are stacking up?

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not a total “no-load.” I do a good job (or at least reasonably good) at caring for the kiddles. We generally have a game plan, things we want to accomplish (workbooks, reading, science projects.) But those don’t always need MY attention, and it’s that downtime I’m concerned about, along with the time I’m at home on my own.

It is easy for me to justify popping onto the computer to fool around, because I can go back and forth without skipping a beat, unlike most projects which require more concentration. But that’s not going to work on two different fronts. 1) It is “using up” bits and pieces of time without accomplishing a thing, and 2) it’s sending the wrong message to the kids about how to use time appropriately. Right?

So how can I make “better” use of those random minutes – those little blocks of 10 minutes here, and 10 minutes there. Well duh. One pops to mind right off the top of my head…MOVE. How about if I used that time just to walk around the house?

I’m having a terrible time getting in 10K steps a day. So I’m going do a little experiment. I’m going to set the timer for 10 minutes, and see how many steps I get if I just walk around until it goes off. Back in 10.

Tada! 967 steps. Color me amazed. If I did that every time I knew I had 10 free minutes coming up, I’d have my steps in every day – early!

And then there are my simple projects that don’t require a lot of supplies. Even my journal, if I put together a really basic “go bag,” could be worked on for a few minutes at a time.

It pretty much boils down to those lists I have a love/hate relationship with. I use them for a few days in a spurt, then I fall off the wagon again.

So, I can either keep doing what I’m doing and be upset with myself, or put together a plan (again) and start working it.

Then, just about the time I get headed in the right direction, it’ll be time to leave on our next adventure, and I’ll be out of the habit AGAIN…good grief. I just can’t win for losing!

So what’s it going to be? Give up before I get started, or at least give it a try?

As exhausting as it is, I’m going to try again. And again. And again.

Every day is a new beginning. Right? Let’s drink to THAT!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I think you spend way, way, WAY too much time thinking about how to sabotage your plans, rather than sticking to them and working them.

    If you move around the house, you could be multitasking, like picking up that shirt that you laid on the couch. You could walk to the laundry room if it’s dirty, or the bedroom to hang it up. You would be accomplishing two tasks at once: moving and organizing. Multitasking isn’t for everyone, but just moving isn’t making you any happier, it seems.

    BTW, I love that last photo.

    Reply
    • I love how you hold me accountable, Elizabeth, and call me on my crap! You’re absolutely right, I CAN multi-task, in exactly the way you mention. Accomplish something with my walking, rather than walk for the sake of walking. Duh. I’m a smart woman. You’d think I could figure that out on my own. Thank you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

