RSS Feed

On To The Summer Tree


As sad as it is to see the 4th of July tree come down,

 

time waits for no woman, and summer is flying by. So, if I’m going to do a summer tree (and I really want to!) it needs to happen sooner rather than later.

Today is the day.

I’ve been collecting little bits and pieces for months, and it isn’t easy (or at least it wasn’t at first.) Year ’round trees are not yet a “thing.” I think I am either ahead of the power curve on this, or there IS no power curve, and I’m in my own little world here. It wouldn’t be the first time, and I’m sure it won’t be the last!

I had purchased a lemonade stand,

a bar-b-que,

and a patio chair to add to the metal ants I already had,

plus a cute sign to stand next to the tree, and a plaque to use as a tree topper, but I was still feeling frustrated that I hadn’t found more.

Then I discovered the Mary Englebreit Studio m collection of figurines designed for embellishing “fairy gardens” at our local Green Acres (where I was buying succulents for my garden – funny how easily I get distracted!) All I needed was a roll of thin gold braid, and the transition to “ornament” was easily accomplished. I was on my way!

So now I have fairies,

 

 

watering cans,

topiaries, a bench, a gardening bag, flowers growing on a trellis…I guess these things COULD be used on the spring tree, but we’ll go for summer for now. I still need a garland (I’m thinking of making one out of baker’s twine and triangle flags) and WAAAAAAAY more ornaments.

Oh, and I ordered 4 more fairies that I was unable to find locally!

I’m  thinking I still need flip-flops, popsicles, slices of watermelon…the options are nearly endless. I just need to FIND them! Or make them (I know, what are the chances?!) But it’s a start. And starting is always a good thing!

SaveSave

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. I think you are ahead of the curve. I simply adore your year round tree. Your Summer tree is wonderful. I’m almost tempted to get one and decorate it, too. However, I would have to make all my decorations, since I don’t have the disposable income to buy them. I can see popsicles and watermelon made of polymer clay.

    This is a fun post, and I simply love the idea of a year round tree. I also adore the Independence Day tree, and your St. Patty’s day tree. It’s all so much fun to see.

    Reply
    • I’m so happy you like it! I’m really hoping they catch on. I think you could could make some GREAT ornaments, even if you just made them from paper and embellishments.

      Reply
  2. Jean Jaquette Luce

    Those items are great for summer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

