RSS Feed

The Journal is Actually Happening!


I’m happy to report that my super duper deluxe journal project is actually a real thing!

I’ve been spending time working on the dates and making notes for “catch up” pages, even dabbled a little with a few pages, but until a few days ago, I hadn’t actually completed one.

 

Part of the problem was figuring out how to do photos for it, or even if I SHOULD. Regular 4×6 photos are okay if you only have one or two for a day, but for this format, smaller photos are more practical, and if you’re having them printed, 2x3s come on a sheet of four and are significantly more expensive than 4x6s. And then, do you even need photos for a journal? But with this large format, I was thinking yes.

Awhile back (like maybe YEARS) I got a Canon Selphy photo printer. I played with it a little bit, but never did really use it. I decided to pull it out and relearn to use it for this project, but hadn’t taken the time to do it. Until today. I had a day with no kids, and no MAJOR projects I needed to take care of, so I went for it.

I made a few mistakes along the way, wasting both ink and photo paper, but I’ve got a pretty good handle on it now. Hopefully, I’ll continue, and it will be less time consuming not having to “re-learn” every time I get it out!

And, ta-da! An actual completed page!

And another one!

And another one! Woohoo! I’m on a roll!

And yet another one!

Well, ALMOST finished! Still needs a little work down there in the right hand bottom corner!

Now my next issue (and there’s ALWAYS an issue with me, isn’t there?) is that there does not seem to be a way to print from my computer, just my phone. And if the desired photo is not on the phone there seems to be no easy way to get it there. In my “free time” (Bwahahahahahahaha!) I’ll keep researching.

LISTEN UP APPLE! If you want to add something amazing to the iPhone 8, add that capability!!!

So. I’m not taking a victory lap just yet. A few completed pages do not a 365 day journal make. But, I’m working on it, making progress, working out bugs, and over-coming difficulties without giving up. For me, that’s HUGE.

 

 

SaveSave

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I’m SO proud of you. And that printer is fabulous. I have a friend who had one back in 2007ish and she brought it on vacation with her. I don’t know how she got her photos off her camera, but she did. I guess the optimum word is camera. Too bad all these storage devices can’t talk to each other. That would make a great Human Factors Engineering study. But for now, I’ll just compliment you on your accomplishment so far. It’s definitely looking good.

    Reply
    • Thank you! Like I said, I’m not declaring victory, but so far, it’s looking good! If I wasn’t so tired tonight I’d whip out a couple of photos from our trip to the Jelly Belly Factory and do a page! Maybe tomorrow.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

