RSS Feed

A Love/Hate Relationship


I seem to have a number of those, but this one is with my fitbit.

For quite some time my fitbit kept me on the straight and narrow with my walking program. A minimum of 10K steps a day, 7 days a week, week after week, month after month. (The love phase.) Then in the spring of last year I got sick on the way home from London and took a few days off and for the life of me, I just couldn’t get back into it. No matter how hard I tried, I just kept missing reaching my goal. And there was that little demon watching me, mocking me, making me feel like a complete failure. (The hate phase.) Day after day of its ridicule was too much and I took the sucker off.

Meanwhile, Mr. Tattered has been religious about his walking. And I admit, I envied him his continued commitment, his ability to miss his goal from time to time, sometimes DAYS at a time, and jump right back in.

So. What to do? I know I need to get up and move more. ALL the things I adore doing are sedentary pursuits, and it is way too easy tasty glued to a chair. And it just isn’t healthy.

And as I let the problem percolate, one of the issues I realized I was having was that the fitbit I had required that I be swinging my arm to count steps. So, all the time I am pushing a shopping cart, carrying groceries, walking and holding a child’s hand, I’m not getting credit for steps. So, maybe I wasn’t doing quite as badly as I thought I was? But, nonetheless, at the end of the day, I wasn’t getting the praise I needed!

The solution was slow in coming to me, but I finally figured out I needed a tracker that used a GPS based system to track. Enter the “Fitbit Blaze.” It’s the same one Mr. Tattered and my daughter and my granddaughter use.

I decided if I was going to jump-start my sorry behind, this might be just the way to do it.

5 days ago I bought one, and 4 days ago, I started over. So far, so good. I’ve reached my goal every day.

fitbit-w

Four days in a row. Some days it isn’t pretty. With all the rain, I’ve found myself in the evening walking around and around and around the living room wearing a path in the carpet to get those last 4K steps, but I’m doing it.

I haven’t had to experience the demon demeaning me.

I like the Blaze better than my old fitbit. It displays my steps right on the face, rather than having to check my phone app or computer. Not crazy about the band, so I’m going to check out some less manly looking ones.

All in all, we’re back into the love phase. Whew!

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

