RSS Feed

Multiple Personality Crafting Disorder…


If it isn’t a real, medically diagnosable disease, it should be. And I have it. Bigly. Or big league. Whatever.

There are numerous personalities inhabiting this body of mine (which, I suppose could be why I’ve gained weight – they each need their space, right?) and each of them have their own idea of a perfect crafting day. One can’t get enough knitting, one loves beading, one adores making cards, and yet another would scrapbook all day, given half a chance. And really, those are only the MAJOR bossy ones. There are other secondary personalities with other interests – the mosaic person, the painter…I left them home this trip, but you get what I’m saying, amirite?

So.

Here I am, with lots of time on my hands, and I’m frantically moving back and forth between knitting and beading, while the card maker and scrapbooker wonder when they get to come out.

The knitter just finished her scarf, and wants to get going on another.

craftdisorder1-w

The beader has two simple necklaces strung (they won’y get completed because they need to be measured on the recipients before they are finalized.

craftdisorder3-w

 

craftdisorder2-w

She’s chomping at the bit to get going on some “ocean inspired” sets done, and Bea has requested some earrings, so those HAVE to get done. The earrings won’t take but a short time, so I’ll probably let her stay for awhile.

The card maker has been shoved back waiting to get permission to participate in her yearly National Letter Writing Month project even though she has no access to a printer at the moment and can’t sign her life away SWEARING to be a good pen pal. This will be my 4th year, so if I can’t be trusted by now, no contract is going to make a difference, but hey. I get it. Our fearless leader wants to make sure everyone who is participating is ACTUALLY participating, so she has to do SOMETHING. Although, for the life of me I can’t figure out why someone would sign up for it then leave their pen pal high and dry unless they were in the hospital on death’s door, but I guess some people don’t follow through. Anyway. Permission granted, so she’s going to need to get a mess of cards made.

I’m going to go with an ocean theme this year (wonder why I have the ocean on the brain?) They had some cool paper I’m going to use at Ben Franklin’s, and I’m anxious to see how they turn out.

craftdisorder4-w

Scrapbook girl is probably the most likely of the four to be ignored, because even though the supplies are here,

craftdisorder5-w

the pictures haven’t been ordered. That was SUPPOSED to happen before we left, but I figured I could just as easily do that here and save myself lugging them one direction. I’ve thinned out the photos, and I’m ready to load them onto the Costco website, but if I have them printed, the need to actually produce will be exacerbated, and who needs the stress, right?

If one HAS to have a disease, this is definitely the one I’d choose.

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. You certainly have a lot of craft hobbies. They are all most impressive. I hope you get a printer soon. They are very important. Just ask. I finally got my new laser printer installed and my old one (ink jet) working properly, too.

    Reply
    • I know, huh? The problem is, I LOVE my existing printer (the one at home) but when I updated to a newer operating system on my Mac, I lost the ability to print from the computer. Canon said the printer is too old to invest money in updating the software. I’ve been lazy about looking for a new one, but it’ll be near the top of my list when we return home!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

