RSS Feed

I May Be Losing My Marbles – St. Patrick’s Day Style


No, I’m not playing a game with little green glass balls.

I am contemplating MAKING a beaded garland for my St.Patrick’s Day tree.

First of all, we could argue the logic of even DOING a St. Patrick’s Day tree. Yes, Valentine’s Day is over so those decorations need to come down.

But Easter is late this year, and although I COULD just jump in and put the Easter decor up, it seems a little early.

So, on the face of it, a St. Patrick’s Day theme seems not too insane. In fact, before I realized how little there is out there to actually put ON a St. Patrick’s Day tree, it seemed like a good choice. Now, after hitting several of my go-to decor stores, I’m having second thoughts. Except that I’ve already got it started.

stpat1-w

 

stpat4-w

 

stpat6-w

So, I can either take down what I have up and cut my losses, or forge ahead.

And, yes, being a stubborn Irish lass, my natural inclination is to dig in and forge ahead. Thus the idea for making my own garland.

I can picture it in my head. There are plastic shamrock necklaces I could take apart and space them in between white and several shades of green beads (to tie in with the tacky plastic shamrock ornaments in different shades of green I already found.) Would I have preferred glass ornaments? Yes. But beggars can’t be choosers. As long as you don’t look closely, you can’t see they’re plastic. They can always be replaced down the road, right?

Can you see the beads in this garland? I’m thinking along this line but with St. Pat’s colors and icons.

stpat5-w

 

Anyway. Garland. Again, plastic shamrocks. Not my first choice. But, believe it or not, this whole ST. Patrick’s Day tree idea is not yet “a thing.” Maybe I’ll be a trend setter, but the trend isn’t there yet. So, I’m going to have to improvise. I can probably fall back on my jewelry-making skills and use the plastic shamrocks for the base of “dangly earring-looking” ornaments, as well.

stpat2-w

Well, at least I could have if the necklaces were “strung,” which unfortunately they are not. I’d hoped the shamrocks and words had holes in them, but alas, they are not. Grrrrrrr. This is even harder than I THOUGHT it would be.

So I’m exploring other options. There are fabric and ribbon garlands, but they are too big for this skinny tree. Again, I could “make.” There are suitable ribbons and fabric. I’m so confused.

stpat7-w

 

 

stpat3-w

 

The key issue here is “make.” Seriously? Don’t I have some sort of a rule about not starting any new projects? This sounds like multiple projects, and at a time when time would be better spent cleaning my house or getting ready for the next trip, or maybe even DOING MY BLOG!

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

3 responses »

  1. I vote for skip it this year. There is always next year. Knowing you, my vote will be disregarded. Your energy boggles my mind.

    Reply
    • I’m afraid it’s going to be a pitiful first year. I’ve exhausted all the options I have at the moment. So, no, I’m not disregarding your vote. Skip it wins. We’re leaving for Maui on Tuesday, so my poor tree will sit here sad (and lonely) until we return and it gets turned into an Easter tree. But, hey…I’ve got a year to figure it out, right?

      Reply
  2. I like the idea of a tree. When I was at JoAnn’s yesterday, their St. Patty stuff was on sale at 50% off. If you can’t find good St. Patty’s stuff, the green is basically the same as that of the Mardi Gras beads. Just a thought.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

