RSS Feed

Easy Peasy Dinner


I don’t have a deep box of easy dinner recipes that are sure to please, but this is one of them.

Quiche.

I think the thing I like the best is how versatile it is. The basic recipe is so simple and can be modified easily  with pretty much whatever you have on hand.

Start with your favorite go to crust. If you’re making it from scratch, that pretty much takes away the “easy peasy” part. I like the pre-made crusts from Whole Foods – no junk in them.

And then you get to play.

I cover the bottom of the crust with a generous amount of cheese, shredded or crumbled. Last time it was goat cheese, this time gorgonzola. I haven’t discovered a kind that won’t work.

For me, next up is diced onions, but you decide. You could also add garlic (don’t know why I didn’t!)

Then I layered fresh spinach, but you could use steamed broccoli, or asparagus, or cauliflower, whatever you have on hand. We’re vegetarian, but if you prefer meat, sausage or ham or bacon would all work.

quiche1-w

Next up is the egg mixture. For a 9″ pie, I use 3 eggs and 1 1/2 cups of almond milk. Cow’s milk or cream would work, as well. To that I add a generous shake or three of black pepper. I don’t add any additional seasoning, but if you’re feeling adventurous, you could experiment with any number of herbs and spices.

(If you’re doing a deep dish, or larger pan, the formula is one egg to a 1/2 cup of milk. If you’ve poured your egg mixture in and it’s not full enough, it’s simple to add more, just whisk up another egg and milk until it’s full enough.)

quiche2-w

Pour that over the veggies, and you’re ready to bake.

quiche3-w

Place into a 350 degree oven and bake for approximately 45 mins. It is done when it is set up, not jiggly (firm to the touch, but not solid.) This is important – too firm and the eggs get dry and/or rubbery.

If your pie crusts tend to get too dark, I found this amazing gizmo that will protect your crust while allowing the middle to cook!

quiche4-w

I don’t know where it’s been all my life!

And ta-da! Perfect quiche, just the way you want it!

quiche5-w

Now if only I had more practically fool-proof recipes like this!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Inspirational and, of course, the photos are great additions. No crust at all works; then call it a frittata.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

