RSS Feed

Portland, Oregon – Foodie Trip


Seems like a lot of our vacations are more for the scenery than the food, and that’s fine. If I have to choose, seeing amazing sights is more important than what we’re eating.

But every once in awhile it’s nice to have a “foodie” experience.

I can’t say that we’re experts in culinary experiences, but we do have tastes that are outside the norm, and love to try new things, sometimes the odder sounding, the better. We consider ourselves to be fledgling “foodies.”

So we arrived at the airport in Portland late afternoon, and took the train to the Pearl District, where we’ll be staying for 3 nights. It’s a refurbished warehouse district, kinda upscale with trendy shops and lots of brewhouses and restaurants.

The weather is c-c-c-c-c-cold and rainy, so I don’t know how much looking around we’ll be doing, but if our initial assessment is correct, if we can get out, there will be a lot to see.

I’ve already scoped out a gift shop with a rooster as its logo (so it must be fun!) a Dick Blick’s art supply store (I may be in trouble – but hopefully it’s not as good as I’ve heard it is!) a “free People” clothing store (only one of my very favorite brands – they sell it at Macy’s but I’ve never seen a whole store full of it!) Yikers! AND, we walked by a fancy hair salon (Glow) that accepts walk-ins, and if I don’t chicken out, I may try that messy bob haircut I was fantasizing about yesterday. I mean, hey, it’s kinda like the universe wants me to do it, doncha think? And on top of that, a Starbucks for our morning coffee. Life is good.

All of that, just walking to the Deschutes Brewery for dinner.

1foodie1-w

The one in Bend is one of our favorite places to eat, and we were looking forward to the garlic-lovers pizza (after a little adult beverage – Mr. Tattered’s favorite beer is Deschutes Black Butte Porter, and I rarely meet a Pinot Gris I don’t like!) But alas, the menu here is different – no pizza.

1foodie2-w

However, there were more things on the menu that sounded good than we could try in one evening.

We started off sharing a big bowl of roasted tomato soup with jalapeño pesto and artisan jalapeño bread. Great choice. Very hearty with a nice kick.

1foodie4-w

For our main course Mr. Tattered had a slab of soho salmon (caught this summer and flash frozen on the boat) on a bed of spaetzel (a small, dense German pasta) with spinach and mustard sauce. He enjoyed it very much.

1foodie5-w

I had an Israeli coucous with curry sauce, and roasted sweet potatoes, cauliflower, cashews, and cashew cream, topped with crispy kale. It was incredible!

1foodie6-w

For dessert we shared a slice of pumpkin spice cake with cream cheese frosting drizzled with a healthy serving of caramel and toasted pecans. Two bites was about all I could stuff down, but it was delish!

1foodie3-w

So, our little “foodie” getaway is off to a really good start.

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Awesome! I’ve was able to get some of their brews while I was up in Davis, but I haven’t seen it in so cal yet. Glad you got to visit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

