RSS Feed

Day #19 GBII – DUH! Just Tune Out The Noise!


This is one of those posts that started out as one thing, and quickly developed into something quite different.

What was initially on my mind was how fast time is going by. It seems impossible to me that the calendar could be right. Is it really the 14th of January already? How could we already be two weeks into the new year?

They say “time flies when you’re having fun,” but I think it’s more appropriate just to say “time flies.” And there doesn’t seem to be any cure for it. Whether I’m busy, or taking life easy, day after day, the hours fly by and the weeks pass at warp speed.

Then my mind started wandering, and I was mulling my state of “overwhelm” and realized it’s getting better. But why? I still have a to do list a mile long, and more things I want to do than I will ever be able to accomplish. So why am I feeling better about it?

The really good news is that if I can tune out all the external noise, life is good.

I’m enjoying my family, I feel useful, all my needs, and most of my wants are being met. I’m really quite fortunate in the grand scheme of things.

Then it hit me – Light bulb moment…

Duh, it’s the external stuff that is making me crazy and feeling overwhelmed – the stuff I can’t control or even have much of an impact on.

And in the last week or so I have been doing better at tuning it out.

I’m still reading political articles, but not getting absorbed in them – staying informed, but not obsessively so.

I’m spending less time on Facebook, and more time on family projects. I’m using my lists to help keep me focused.

And you know what? In those moments when I’m ignoring the pit in my stomach, I’m okay. No, I’m better than okay. I’m good.

tatteredrancho6-w

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

