RSS Feed

Day #15 GBII – Bored? What Does THAT Mean?


I can’t remember the last time I was bored. The only reason I know it’s a word any more is from either a distant memory of my own, or more probably, one of the kids saying it, which is NEVER a good idea, because I can ALWAYS find something for them to do, whether it’s something they WANT to do or not.

But me? I’m almost always excited about doing something.

Right now I’ve got projects lined up around the block, and every time I turn around, I’m thinking of something else I want to do. THAT is not necessarily a good thing.

But, so far this year I’m staying focused on existing projects (well, except for one little addition to the knitting pile) and I’m really HOPING to get one or two projects from the incomplete list checked off before I go off on a new tangent (I would LOVE to get the two mosaic monograms I have started finished!)

That, however, doesn’t stop my brain from getting new ideas! I can’t look at a magazine without seeing SOMETHING that is just begging to have a little twist done to it to make it something I NEED. And I have to FORCE myself to stay off of Pinterest. That place is dangerous. And let’s not even talk about Michael’s. I try to wear blinders when I go in so that I get only the thing/things I went in for (not that it works, because I can’t for the life of me figure out how these packages of skinny washi tape work into the knitting projects I went in to get a darning needle and crochet hook for!)

washi1-w

But aren’t they adorable? How could ANYONE resist? I have absolutely no idea what I’m going to do with them, but they are there when I figure it out!

I don’t think I mentioned last fall that I added some washi tape storage! I LOVED the little suitcases I got from Queen & Co. a couple of years ago, and when I realized they are the perfect size for rolls of washi tape, I knew I needed more. I tried ordering directly from the company, but they were out of stock, so I tried Amazon, and there they were, at an even better price than I would have gotten from the company. Life is good. But the best part is, now I have excess storage capacity, which means when I indulge, I don’t have to concern myself with where in the world I’m going to put the new rolls!

washi2-w

 

washi3-w

Even though I’m enjoying tremendously what I’m doing now, I can’t help but think ahead. We leave for Maui in about a month and a half, and I’ve always got play time while we’re there. I normally take a whole suitcase full of projects, and this year will probably be no different.

If I’m smart I’ll start making cards for National Letter Writing Month, so it’s not a stress-filled month. But then, once I get there, I always get the jewelry-making bug! And of course, if I stick to my plan to make scarves all year, I should take some yard and needles (I don’t even know if they HAVE yarn in Maui!) And it would be foolish not to do some scrapbooking since I already have so many supplies there. And then the kindle is LOADED with books, and there are hikes just begging to be taken, and sun waiting to be soaked up, and avocados and mangoes and “Belgian endive, gorgonzola, and macadamia” salads to be eaten…

Did I mention that I’m NEVER bored?

 

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

