RSS Feed

Day #14 GBII – Balancing My Obsessions


Or are they addictions? I guess it doesn’t really matter what I call them – they have a tendency to take over my life!

I’ve given up trying to change the fact that I have an addictive personality. It seems to be imbedded in my DNA. But I AM learning to manage them. Mostly.

Or at least I’m “participating” in more of them at the same time, allowing for a little more diversity. Instead of having laser focus on one thing, I’m spreading it over a variety of things. Projects don’t get completed as fast, but progress is made in a variety of areas.

I guess that’s what you call balance. (Although in my life, balance is normally a cookie in each hand!)

flat,550x550,075,f

 

Of course, I’m writing about balance on a day/evening when nearly every extra moment was spent knitting, or getting ready to knit.

Lexi was very focused on her puzzles, and didn’t want any help (Uh-oh! Is she obsessive like her Gaga?) So I guess I worked on my obsession while she worked on hers.

balance1-w

She did come and watch while I turned a skein of yarn into a ball of yarn, and another skein of fabric strip in to a ball. She couldn’t believe how they turned from tiny little balls into big balls!

balance2-w

I mostly worked on Josh’s scarf, but then that ball of fabric strips called me, and I just HAD to see what it will look like, and how it would be to work with…

balance3-w

It’s not as hard as I was afraid it would be, and looks great. BUT, I had envisioned an infinity scarf kinda thing, and initially, I think it is going to be too stiff for looping. So I guess I’ll just knit away and see what happens. If Hannah doesn’t like it, it can always go into the pile to give away.

Then this evening I shifted to working on photos from Italy in 2014 (I’m not too far behind, right?) This is what 1900+ photos look like,

balance3-w

On their way to going into a box (in order, and trust me on this, they don’t come from Costco in order, so I pull up the photos on the computer, which ARE in order, and match them up. It’s QUITE a process. But as soon as I get them sorted, I can pull them off the computer to make room for the ones from Cuba… Lord have mercy.

balance5-w

Then they’ll start going into what is now a BORING album, but I have big plans for fancying it up!

balance6-w

I think creative people should get about 20 more hours in their days than regular people. Is that too much to ask?

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

