RSS Feed

Day #10 GBII – Kindness Costs Nothing


The world is a pretty scary place for a lot of people these days.

There seem to be threats to our security coming at us from every direction.

There’s not a whole lot we can do as individuals to make them go away, and our government is pretty much in chaos, so we can’t depend on it for much of anything.

So, practically speaking, what CAN we do to brighten people’s days?

peacebreak1-w

If we have a little extra cash we could donate to food pantries, leave dollar bills on displays in the dollar store, put a bunch of small bottles of bubbles on a picnic table at the park with a note to enjoy them, leave little inspirational pieces of art out and about for people to see or take with them.

peacebreak2-w

I love to knit, and my family is about scarfed out, so I’m thinking I might try to knit a scarf or two a month throughout the year to pass out to homeless people when the weather turns cold next winter.

peacebreak5-w

Even when we are flat broke, kindness costs nothing. We can lift each other up and create soft places for the people around us to land. We can be extra considerate. We can return to the days when we held doors for each other, and returned our shopping carts to the corrals so they don’t roll off and damage people’s cars. We can share our gifts (whether they are baking, volunteering for charities or any other service!) We can pick up trash even though we didn’t throw it out, and maybe even pull a few weeds in common areas.

There is no end to the ways we can improve the lives of others.

peacebreak4-w

And really, even our own. Make more time for “peace breaks” – listen to soothing music, search out a photo of nature’s beauty every day, dwell on the good things in our lives, even if we have to dig deep for them. There is always, always, always SOMETHING to be grateful for in the most trying of situations. (I hope you’re enjoying some of MY peace breaks, photos from some of our trips that I find very peaceful…)

peacebreak3-w

Before Christmas I went to a Christian Christmas concert with my daughter and granddaughter, where I was introduced to a group I’d never heard before – “For King and Country.” One of the songs that really resonated with me was “The Proof Of Your Love.”

“The Proof Of Your Love”

If I sing but don’t have love
I waste my breath with every song
I bring an empty voice, a hollow noise
If I speak with a silver tongue
Convince a crowd but don’t have love
I leave a bitter taste with every word I say

So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
Let my love look like You and what You’re made of
How You lived, how You died
Love is sacrifice
So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love

If I give
To a needy soul but don’t have love then who is poor?
It seems all the poverty is found in me

So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
Let my love look like You and what You’re made of
How You lived, how You died
Love is sacrifice
Oh, let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love

When it’s all said and done
When we sing our final song
Only love remains
Only love remains

If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate. If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump, ” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing. If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.

Let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love
Let my love look like You and what You’re made of
How You lived, how You died
Love is sacrifice
So let my life be the proof,
The proof of Your love

You don’t even need to be a believer for these words to move you. Just make them about love, about kindness.

peacebreak6-w

There has never been a more perfect time to practice random, intentional, acts of kindness.

And, in truth, it costs nothing.

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

