RSS Feed

Day #8 GBII – Back To The Grind


Okay, I can barely say that with a straight face.

Many people have gone back to work today after a little vacation/staycation, and I’m one of them.

Well, I don’t actually WORK. I watch my grandchildren while their parents work. And if that is work, I LOVE working.

The perks are amazing…

Watching Lexi mommy her dolls,

kids1-w

Modeling the jewelry she creates,

kids2-w

Helping her learn to write,

kids6-w

Dropping Josh off to school and picking him up, then supervising homework followed by a rousing game of skip-bo… (or at least that was the plan – we ended up going to Starbuck’s and working on printing instead – oh well, the best laid plans…)

kids4-w

 

kids3-w

When Lexi get involved in playing or doing puzzles, I even find the time to do a little knitting.

kids5-w

Yeah, it’s a dirty job, but someone has to do it. So glad it’s me!!!

Tomorrow I add the other two to the mix, but I don’t pick them up from school until late afternoon. Some days there is ballet or hip hop, or coding class, but it’s all just logistics – easy, peasy. Really. Some people ask me if it all isn’t just too much, but seriously, how could spending time with your grandchildren be too much?

Now every once in awhile they act more like siblings than cousins, and I have a moment of wondering what I’m thinking, but that happens rarely, and a few minutes of “the wrath of Gaga” gets them back on track.

Lexi starts pre-school soon, and I’ll only have 2 full days a week, other than that, just ferrying to and from school and activities (except during school vacations.) Totally doable, even at my advanced age! Heeheehee!

Sometimes, even when I’m “on duty” I miss them because I don’t see them much. In fact, is it sick to be looking forward to summer break?

Once upon a time I heard a saying that “if I’d known how fun grandkids were, I would have had them first.” But we’re not the “spoil them and send them home” kinda grandparents. We can’t be. We have to live with the spoiled little creatures we help to create, so we have to run a little tighter ship than most grandparents.

But even with that, there’s just nothing like it. So, yeah. I’ll go back to the grind any time.

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like a dream job to me. My spoiled “boys” don’t know how good they have it, but I bet your grandchildren do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

