RSS Feed

Day #6 GBII – Out With The Old, In With The New

Day #6 GBII – Out With The Old, In With The New

Saying goodbye (and good riddance) to 2016 will be easy, except that it’s a little like jumping from the frying pan into the fire, or in this case into the abyss. I have never in my life felt such a sense of foreboding about the future, as I feel this year, but 2017 is here whether I like it or not, and I need to make some decisions.

I can either sit back and let stuff happen, or I can control it as best as I am am able. I’m opting for door #2 (yeah, I can be a bit of a control freak at times.)

I still haven’t decided on my word for the year, which is not a terribly big deal since I’ve done a terrible job for the past 2-3 years in adhering to it. But, I haven’t given up. I still think the concept is good, it’s just a matter of giving it the time and dedication it deserves.

And wouldn’t you know it, as I sit here at the keyboard, it popped into my head – PARTICIPATE.

It can cover a lot of ground – be tweaked to fit a variety of situations. And it’s an action word, a reminder that I can’t just sit back, I have to make things happen. Wow. I wasn’t even going here today. It’s amazing how the universe works.

So. Out with the old.

I’m plugging away at getting Christmas put away. Now would be a good time for a magic wand, but given that I seem to have misplaced mine, I’m having to do it the old-fashioned way, by hand, one piece at a time. Mr. Tattered hates this time of year – the time when the house is in a state of semi-organized chaos – stuff piled everywhere, trip hazards everywhere you look, for days at a time.

So some people have fancy photos depicting the old and new…for me it’s a little crazier.

Out with the old…

old-new3-w

Packing up and putting away the Christmas decor…

In with the new…

old-new1-w

All of this…

old-new2-w

…going up here!

It’ll take another day to get it all in place, but that’s okay.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Looks like you are well on your way to completion, and it looks like you have already started to participate. Happy New Year Janet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

