RSS Feed

Day #4 GBII – Moving On – Next Up, Valentine’s Day!


It takes me awhile to make changes, and when I really love what was there before, it’s even harder.

So, making the decision to take Christmas down was not an easy one. I knew it needed to be done, but I wanted to keep it up. Really bad. And since I’ve been known to leave them up through January, I knew I could get away with it.

Then, unexpectedly, the granddaughters were over for the day, so since I had some help, I figured it was as good of a time to get started as any. They were a lot of help, and although we didn’t come even close to getting it done, we made a good dent.

It was more fun than I thought it would be, because I used it as a chance to tell family stories through the ornaments, and pass down some family values. I showed them some of the ornaments I’d made back in the days when when I did craft shows, and their mother’s 1st Christmas ornament (given to her by HER Grandmother) that our dog chewed up, but is still on the tree every year because it is so special. I found the felt teddy bear ornament their mother had made for me when she was about Bea’s age. It is misshapen, and the stitching is messy, but it is over 30 years old, and I still love it because SHE made it. Sometimes they worry that their imperfect gifts to us aren’t good enough, and this special ornament was proof we aren’t kidding when we tell them how much we love their handmade gifts.

They also saw the few ornaments I have that belonged to MY mom, and the ones we get every year and personalize with all our Grandchildren’s names on them, starting with the first ones that only had Gaga, Da and Hannah, then the addition of Bea and Josh in 2008, and the last 2 that include Lexi. It was such a nice trip down memory lane, and hopefully if we do that every year, they’ll remember the stories that go with the ornaments they’ll inherit!

But, the point of this post is moving on!

As a part of taking down the Christmas ornaments, we shifted the front tree to Valentine’s Day.

It’s my skinny tree that normally houses my shabby chic ornaments. Many of them are suitable to stay for Valentine’s Day – the gold and silver hearts and round balls, the garland… Then we pulled the hearts from the main tree (glass, wood, and metal) and a few strands of the red beaded garland, and added them.

I have a few things I keep just for the Valentine tree – the king and queen of hearts, some glitter heart ornaments, a glitter arrow, big sparkly heart and glitter heart picks. Switch out the gold lame skirt for glittery red, and there you have it! An excuse to leave one tree up  A beautiful Valentine decoration! It’s not quite as stuffed as I’d like to see it, but, as always, it’s a journey.

valtree3-w

 

valtree2-w

 

valtree5-w

 

valtree6-w

 

valtree1-w

 

valtree4-w

And for the first time in several years, I’m going to do Valentine’s decorations on top of the library case where the angels were. Guess that’s the good part about not going on a January trip – more decorating gets done. Hmmmmmm. Decorating or traveling? I may need to rethink this…

It’ll take me a few days to get everything down, and probably another few to restore the house to its normal decor.

I’m almost excited to do it, because I’ll be putting the Rooster/chicken display up on the entertainment center with the new topper. It should be much easier, I should have much more flexibility, and I MAY have a couple of new chickens to add into the mix (you find such cool stuff when you don’t get into your decorating cupboards for awhile!) I found a couple of older things I forgot I had because I didn’t put them back up after Christmas last year (or was it the year before?)

Anyway, I’m moving on, and I like it. I’ll share as I make progress!

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

