RSS Feed

It’s Called a Cleanse…


…but I’m trying to make it a way of life.

If you follow me regularly, you’ll know my daughter and daughter in law roped me into doing a cleanse with them. Not a crazy one, just eating in a way that gives the cleansing organs in the body a little break. No meat (not a problem since I’m vegetarian) no dairy (I’m ALMOST vegan, so not a big deal either) no processed food (a little more difficult because I love my protein bars, but I can do it for a week) no sugar (not too difficult) no alcohol (easy) and NO CAFFEINE. That one is pretty much impossible, but since there is no way I’m giving up caffeine, I figure I’ll just cut back a little and call it good.

There was also a concoction of cranberry juice, lemon, apple cider vinegar, and water to drink during the day. I like the taste, so easy, peasy.

cleanse2-w

The only part I thought would be really hard was a one day juice fast. I LIKE juice, but I don’t love it. And I like to crunch, so this one day stood to be the worst part.

Well it turned out to be pretty good!

The daughter works near a “juice store” that does their own cold press juices every day. She got an assortment of them for us.

juice2-w

Aren’t they pretty?

juice1-w

And the packaging is darling!

But, looking pretty and darling packaging aren’t really the issue though, huh?

She selected for us a beet, carrot, greens, and fruit. Well, turns out they were as delicious as they are pretty!

So Friday was our juice day. I missed the crunching, and there was a point where I was ready to eat the paint off the walls, but by evening I was good. I wasn’t starving.

Saturday came and went, eating lightly, then today I realized I MISSED my juice. And I FEEL good. Hmmm.

Imagine my surprise!

So, where do I go from here? I missed my protein bar, so I’ll probably add that back in. But eating much more lightly. And maybe a juice a day, and one day a week of juice only?

Now, I’m not committing to anything (you know how terrible I am at commitments!) but this feels like a plan that I could live with on a day to day basis, then eat more normally while we’re on our trips, and back to this way MOST of the time.

Now if I could just get my sorry butt to Yoga.

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

4 responses »

  1. Happy to hear you made it through your juice day. A juicer next????

    Reply
    • I’ve got one, but I can’t seem to get the consistency or the taste right. So for now, I’m going to pay the freight and let them do it for me. If I get ambitious one of these days I may try again. Even as I say that I’m laughing. I know I won’t, as long as there is another alternative! Heeheehee!

      Reply
  2. Yes, get your sorry butt to yoga! XO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

