RSS Feed

Antoni Gaudi


Most of you know by now that I’m a big fan of mosaics.

It pretty much started with the display of Roman mosaics at the London Museum, then solidified with the visit to the “Giant’s House” in Akaroa, New Zealand.

Then a friend convinced me to try doing it myself, and it’s become a bit of an obsession.

So when I saw the work of Antoni Gaudi in Barcelona, not only did I wonder where I had been not to have heard of him, but it made me want to know more.

My first glimpse was of one his houses in a swank neighborhood in Barcelona. All I could think was “I want to live in a house like that!” The guide mentioned that he was an architect/artist that pushed the limits of traditional architecture. I’ll say!

gaudi2w

 

gaudi1w

 

gaudi3w

Turns out there is a park in Barcelona (Park Guell) where he did a bunch of hardscape. I could hardly wait to get there to see it!

I was picturing a sort of “Giant’s House” presentation, and that turned out not to be the case. Although his work HAD to be the influence of her work, his is much less detailed than that of Josie Martin, but still VERY enjoyable!

gaudi5w

 

gaudi4

Gaudi’s salamander is the iconic piece of art in the park…

gaudi11w

 

gaudi10w

 

gaudi9w

 

gaudi6w

 

gaudi12w

 

gaudi13w

 

gaudi7w

 

gaudi8w

 

gaudi14w

 

Perhaps Gaudi’s most impressive accomplishment was his work on the “Sagrada Familia.” He died long before it was completed (in fact it is not expected to be done until 2024) and other architects have added their influences to it over the years. We ran out of time and didn’t get to tour the interior, but the exterior is impressive.

gaudi15w

 

gaudi16w

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

7 responses »

  1. Beautiful architecture made by broken tiles…….!

    Reply
  2. Just gorgeous! Lucky, lucky you! I’ve seen pictures of some of his works, but this is quite a gallery. I love ceramic tile work, too. Not that it’s anything like this, but have you seen the tile work at Catalina Island? Interesting.

    Reply
  3. Seeing these art and architecture through your eyes was special. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

