RSS Feed

Are You Ready For A Trip?


We’ve been back from our latest trip for two months. In some ways it feels much longer than that. The days and weeks since we’ve returned flew by amidst the flurry of the holidays and then the laborious task of getting the decorations put away.

Slowly, but surely, life is returning to some semblance of normal.

Blogging has been the biggest casualty. As much as I LOVE to write, sitting down and actually doing it has taken second place to my addiction to both Facebook and Spider Solitaire. (If you don’t know what that is, take my advice and keep it that way!) I seem to have the ability to lose myself to both for hours on end.

But, today, I’m going to work toward catching up on my travelogue, especially because we’re leaving on a new adventure soon, and I’d like to be finished with the documentation of the last one first!

So, we left off with the trip to Ecuador and Peru. Since we were already in South America, we had wanted to continue on to Chile and Antarctica before coming home. But, we were unable to match up two separate trips without a few week delay in-between, so we opted to come home, catch up and leave again. Note to self: Don’t do that again. We are much better off leaving more time between adventures!

I have to confess, I really didn’t have much interest in going to Chile, but it was a part of the trip we DID want to go on – Antarctica. I say we. Well, truth be told, Mr. Tattered would just as soon stay home, but he’s humoring me. And he has fun once we get to our destination. It’s just getting there that he’s not fond of. Case in point, Antarctica. Most trips to Antarctica require a multi-day voyage across the Drake Pass, which can frequently have high seas – not something he enjoys. In fact, he jokingly said that the part of the trip I was most looking forward to was watching him hurl for 3 days. That was so not true!

Anyway, this combo Chile/Antartica trip is the only one we could find that flies you from Punta Arenas, Chile to St. George Island just north of the Antarctic Peninsula, where you board your ship, dispensing with the need to tackle the Drake Pass. PLUS, the trip was through Road Scholar, so it was a win-win-win! I get to Antartica, he doesn’t get sick, AND we add the educational component we like so much!

So that’s how we ended up in Chile. And as usual, it turned out to be a happy accident.

I had heard the word Patagonia, but had you asked me what it was before this trip, I would have thought it was a clothing line. Well, it is an actual place. And a quite amazing one, at that. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

We landed in Santiago, Chile – very similar to the other large cities in South America – crowded and smoggy. Not really my cup of tea.

santiago1-w

 

santiago2-w

But once we got out of the city, it was quite pretty, and it helped that we were going wine tasting!

We visited two wineries, both with stories to tell and lovely wines.

The first was Santa Rita.

santiago3-w

 

santiago4-w

 

santiago5-w

 

santiago6-w

As the story goes, back during the Chilean Revolution, Dona Paula, the owner of Santa Rita, hid 120 soldiers in the cellars. Their 120 wine is a tribute to those soldiers. It was an interesting story, and a big part of their presentation.

santiago7-w

 

The second winery was Concha Toro, and another story about El Diablo watching over the wine…

santiago8-w

 

santiago9-w

 

santiago10-w

 

santiago11-w

 

santiago12-w

 

santiago13-w

But the highlight of our time in Chile was the visit to Patagonia…and that is a post or two of its own.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

