RSS Feed

Back on Track – Cusco Through a Tattered Lens


Well, it took a little more doing than I expected, but I’m finally back on track – photos restored, and Photoshop Elements installed, along with back-up programs that will hopefully make restoring the computer easier, should it be necessary in the future. I’m still experiencing a few minor difficulties, but I’ve got work-arounds until I get it just right. Painful lesson learned.

So with that, I’m ready to finish up the travelog for our Ecuador/Peru trip. So far I’ve shown you our exploration of the Galapagos Islands followed by the days leading up to and including Machu Picchu.

From there we went back to Cusco, where we spent our last 3 days in Peru. I’m tempted to give you a blow by blow because it was so much fun, but now I’ve got another whole trip to share with you, so I think I’ll go with photos and possibly a bit of explanation. You know, my tattered lens photos.

cusco1-w

A common sight along the road

cusco5-w

“C” and “F” on the faucets Caliente (hot) and Frio (cold)

cusco2-w

Another fairly common sight – Older women earning their livings by getting photographed in their traditional garb, and often with llamas.

cusco6-w

 

cusco7-w

 

cusco8-w

 

cusco9-w

 

cusco10-w

 

cusco11-w

 

cusco13-w

 

cusco3-w

 

cusco4-w

 

cusco14-w

 

cusco15-w

 

cusco16-w

 

cusco17-w

 

cusco18-w

Potatoes are a very big deal in Peru. And man, do they ever know how to prepare them!

cusco19-w

Going in, we thought this was a museum for Pisco, a spirit similar to tequila, but made from fermented grapes. Turns out it was like a tequila bar. Mr. Tattered took a little class in making Pisco Sours (my new favorite drink!)

cusco20-w

Another educational program involved learning about Peruvian folk instruments.

cusco21-w

Gaston Acurio, renown Peruvian chef’s restaurant – WOW!

cusco22-w

interesting decor in the restaurant…

cusco23-w

…and extremely good food.

cusco24-w

More education – a cooking lesson!

cusco26-w

Picarones – sweet potato doughnuts with maple syrup…oh, man. What a way to end the trip!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

