RSS Feed

Yes, I’m Still Celebrating Christmas


Well, not exactly “celebrating” but the decorations are still up.

On purpose, not because of laziness. Okay, truth be told, a little bit of laziness might be entering into it, but not much.

We were away from home for several weeks during the lead up to Christmas. I had decided before we left that I wasn’t going to decorate this year. The time between Thanksgiving was just too filled with “getting ready to leave” stuff.

But, Christmas Eve is when the family comes to our house, and no one wanted to change the venue OR do it without the festive decor. (Shhhhh! By no one, I mean my daughters, but I’m not naming names!) In fact, they hated the idea so much they volunteered to do the decorating themselves while we were gone.

However, that would involve turning over creative control and as hard as I tried, I couldn’t do it. I confess to being a bit of a control freak when it comes to my decorating. I know that my years of going all out on Christmas decor are numbered, but for as long as I’m able, I feel the need to “do it my way.”

The problem is, “my way” is pretty complicated. And time consuming. Something had to give.

So we settled on them putting up the artificial tree, and putting the lights on it, and taking down the every day display of roosters from the top of the entertainment center.  I’d take care of the rest. “The rest,” at that point in time, meant getting all the ornaments on the tree, and the Santa collection displayed, tasks I felt like I could handle fairly quickly. Silly me.

Once I got the tree and the Santas up, the rest of the house looked sad, and I just COULDN’T have a sad-looking house.

jan3christmas9-w

 

jan3christmas10-w

 

jan3christmas2-w

The kid’s tree needed to go up, which was easy enough. It just needed to come down out of the rafters and Bea would do the decorating.

jan3christmas5-w

And how long could it take to put up the angel/shabby chic tree? It’s just little. But then it really needed its table-top decor as well.

jan3christmas1-w

 

jan3christmas4-w

By then there were only a few boxes left – the snowmen, trees and gingerbread decorations. Hell, might as well finish it up. (Oooooops! Probably shouldn’t swear at Christmas decorations, huh?)

jan3christmas7-w

 

jan3christmas8-w

 

jan3christmas6-w

 

jan3christmas3-w

So, a day or two before Christmas Eve it was completed. And I loved how it looked and was happy they had encouraged me to decorate.

But then, in the blink of an eye, it was New Year’s Day, and according to tradition, the day the decorations were to go back up in the garage until next year. In order to start the new year fresh, the house needed to be restored to its daily self. But I wasn’t tired of the Christmas decor. So it was a bit of a battle trying to figure out what to do.

In the end, keeping everything up for another week (or two, maybe) won out, although I have to admit, every morning I think maybe today should be the day.

I really am kind of anxious to get on with the new year, and the decorations are keeping a part of me in the old one.

But then, this is going to be the year where I walk my heart’s path, right? So what is my heart saying? Well, honestly, my brain is screaming so loudly my heart can hardly hear itself think! Getting these three parts of me to work together is going to be a little more of a challenge than I was hoping for! *giggle, giggle!*

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

