RSS Feed

Happy New Year’s Eve


I had hoped to get caught up on my travels, reflect on the year 2015 and set some intentions for 2016, all before the year ended…that obviously didn’t happen.

But I am not going to be too hard on myself. I have been busy living, and that took precedence over recording it all. I’m told that’s a good thing, and I’m choosing to believe it, at least for today.

But I didn’t want to let the day pass without at least a word of goodbye to 2015.

It has been a really rough year for many of my people. Several have lost their spouses and/or fur children, and others have had life challenges that were almost too much to bear. But bear it they did, and although they are all examples of grace under fire, for some it is hard to say goodbye to the year and hello to a new one that does not include their loved one/s. I don’t think I ever looked at it like that before. I would have thought that each and every one of them would be happy to have the year over and behind them, ready to get onto a new one, one with nothing in it yet, as if the newness of it would bring them peace.

But it turns out that is not always the case.

Venturing into a new year without their spouses poses new problems and fears, and a need to try and start over, when they really just aren’t ready. Being in the same year when their loved ones were there was more comfortable.

So, I’m doing a lot of thinking, and trying to be sensitive to the fact that not everyone had a great 2015, and not everyone is looking forward to 2016.

That doesn’t mean I can’t be grateful for the year I had, or look forward to the opportunities that the new year holds. It just means that I’ll do it with a bit more gratitude. And a little less fanfare.

Goodnight dear friends. I hope 2016 is a good one for you all.

IMG_7269

I’ll be hitting the ground running on the 1st. And hopefully I’ll do a better job of documenting the journey.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

