RSS Feed

Living A Small Life Well


There was a time when being famous for something was important to me. It wasn’t that I necessarily had any specific thing in mind, just that that I wanted to do SOMETHING, ANYTHING, so well that I would be famous for it.

Once upon a time, I thought my store might be that thing. My goal was to be featured in a country magazine for being such a fun store to visit. I worked as hard as a person could possibly work to make it happen, but it just never did. Being selected as “business of the year” in my small community was as close as I got. When I sold the store having not reached my goal, it was a source of dismay for me, and I can’t truthfully say I’ve completely gotten over it.

It’s taken a bit of doing on my part to accept that I will never be famous for anything. I am a competitive person. I enjoy a good challenge.  I am not opposed to hard work, and perseverance is not a dirty word in my world. But I’m not as young or as energetic and I used to be, and the time has come to divert efforts away from me and MY potential accomplishments, and toward laying a foundation for others to accomplish their goals.

It hasn’t been easy, but I think I can finally say I’ve made a certain kind of peace with the idea.

sunrise-w

Part of getting to that point has been to understand that I don’t have to be famous to have made a difference in the world. I’ll never have a grand stage and make the kind of difference that the Pope or a President can make, or even a teacher, or a first responder. But in my little world, on my little stage, I can, and I have.

There is nothing wrong with living a small, quiet life, if you do it well. If you can find a way to make someone’s life a little better than it would have been had you not lived, and if you’re lucky, maybe even a few someones.

I have that kind of a life. When I breathe my final breath, I will be missed. Not by a nation, or a town, but by a few people, and truly, not everyone can say that. And unlike in my younger years, that will be enough.

So, I will continue to use my creativity, talents, and whatever time I have left in this world to enhance the lives of my family and friends, and maybe even a few acquaintances. I will live this small life well.

I am reminded of an old saying that “God has put me on this earth to accomplish a set number of things, and I’m so far behind, I’ll NEVER die!” Ha! I don’t REALLY expect to live forever, but God willing and the crik don’t rise, hopefully I still have a long time to get it all done!

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Since we were separated at birth, I COMPLETELY know what you’re talking about here, Janet. I used to feel exactly the same way, yet that desire for recognition is slowly moving away from me. As it goes farther and farther, I find that I don’t miss it. Actually, I feel relief that I don’t have to strive so hard. We already do make a huge difference in the world just by being here.

    Reply
    • Heeheehee! We do have a lot of similarities, don’t we? You’re just figuring things out at a much younger age than I did. But I’m getting it figured out, slowly but surely!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

