RSS Feed

Fuzzy Pink Socks and Birkenstocks


In the movie “Home” one of the characters says, “Throw your hands in the air like you just don’t care,” and I find myself saying that several times a day!

One of the good things about getting older is that you care less about the dumb stuff – like whether or not you’re “presentable” when you go out. I’m so over that. Hahahahaha! At least I tell myself I am.

Case in point… I like to run around the house in fuzzy socks. And when I leave my house just to head to my son’s house to watch the grandkids, where I will want to be running around in fuzzy socks again, I don’t see any need to take them off and put regular shoes on. So I just slip on my Birkenstocks and take off.

So an hour later, thinking that I was just going to drop my grandson off at school, stop by my house for a few minutes, and then head right back to their house, I slipped my Birks back on. I mean, no one would even see my…well, “unusual” footwear, right?

But then I remembered that we needed a few things at Costco. I could have gone all the way back to the house and changed out the footwear (and actually, I could have just slipped off the socks, but I didn’t think about it until just this minute! Heeheehee!) but it seemed like a waste of both time and gas, so I went just as I was. Yeah, I looked a little ridiculous. But you know what? Who cares?

pinksocks-w

I suppose there were probably a few people judging me, but seriously, I couldn’t have cared less if I’d tried. I was comfortable. And I’d been ecologically responsible. Yeah, there were ladies in there in 4 inch heels, dressed to the nines. But are they any happier than I am? I kinda doubt it. And my feet didn’t hurt.

If anyone doesn’t want to be my friend because I sometimes wear fuzzy pink socks and Birkenstocks, what kind of friend would they be, anyway? ‘Cuz I’ll tell you, I have WAY worse issues than just the occasional fashion faux pas!

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

