RSS Feed

Is It 2016 Yet?


Yeah, I know. It’s only September.

But my 2015 word, “IGNITE” has been a bit of a bust, so I’m getting kind of anxious to get on to a new one.

Well, that’s harsh, I guess. I have really had quite a productive year, so if “ignite” had meant getting a lot of projects done, I would be doing well. Unfortunately, it was meant to get me caught up on OLD projects, not adding dozens of new ones!

And as long as I’m confessing, I never really even got a working list going of projects I had stacked up that I wanted to get done this year. So, really, I was doomed from the get go.

But, that’s sort of harsh, as well. It’s only September. There is still a whole quarter of the year left. If I set my mind to it, got that list going, and really kicked it, I could pull out a respectable year.

Ha! Now that I think about it, the last time I checked in on my “word” we had this discussion, and I was going to try to get back on track. Then I toyed with a July reset, and here we are in September and I STILL haven’t made any progress. Heeheehee!

But there’s this little problem.

Mosaics.

I’m obsessed.

And it isn’t an obsession that’s going away anytime soon.

I have seven (yes, it’s now up to seven) monograms to make. Two are nearly to the grouting stage, two are partially done, two are blank, and one isn’t even purchased yet (Oh, yeah! THAT’S what I went to Hobby Lobby for today! OOPS!)

9:14mosaics2-w

 

 

9:14mosaics1-w

These are the two I’m concentrating on first. If I can find the last beads I need tomorrow, I should be able to start filling in the grout the next day.

So, as you can see, I’m being productive. The problem is, I’m supposed to be finishing old projects. Things I’ve had stacking up for years. Things that I was once really excited about, but lost interest in.

What I don’t seem to be able to do is to STOP adding new projects long enough to give myself time to work up the enthusiasm necessary to dig out the old projects. And now that I’m this crazy about a new medium, it almost seems futile to force myself to stuff I don’t want to be doing. It’s AMOST enough to make me donate the half-finished projects to Re-Create and let someone else finish them. But then on the other hand, I’m STILL not ready to give up on them. All those stacked up projects still have a certain appeal to me.

Hmmmmmm.

I  need to think on this some more.

In the meantime, I sure am enjoying these monograms! Heeheehee! I guess that’s a good thing.

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

