RSS Feed

Downton Abbey – Season 6


Normally I don’t get upset in advance of need, but in this case I’m going to make an exception.

The last, final season of Downton Abbey starts in the UK on Sunday, September 20th, then in the US in January.

Downton-Abbey

I’m a resourceful girl, and I’ll find a way to watch it in September. Then I’ll watch it again in January, then I’ll buy the DVD and watch it again. And maybe again.

And based on the trailer, I’m pretty sure I’d better buy stock in Kleenex. I’m already crying. And obsessing.

I guess the trailer is, in essence, a bit of a spoiler. But if you want to see it, here it is.

I can’t imagine that they’ll be able to end it to my satisfaction.

If a series has to end, I guess in recent memory, the best I’ve seen was “Parenthood,” where they flashed ahead to show how the lives of the individual family members had progressed after a few years.

I’m on pins and needles waiting to see how Julian Fellowes handles it.

There is still so much more of their lives I want to see – Mary falling in love again, Edith finally finding happiness, Tom discovering that being with the Crawleys is all he wants in life, and of course, Mr. Carson and Mrs. Hughes getting married. Then Anna and Mr. Bates finally being together and having a baby, Daisy finding herself, Thomas finding a partner and discovering he doesn’t need to be so hateful, Baxter and Moseley falling in love…and so much more. There’s no way they could fit everything I want to see into one season.

Maybe they’ll do a spin off some day, focusing on the Sybil, George, and Marigold generation with cameos by the rest of the family?

I don’t know.

I really am TRYING not to think about it. But I can’t help it. They feel like part of the family somehow.

I’m glad I’ve got the whole series on DVD. I suspect I’m going to have relive it all from time to time. Although I may need to skip the BAD episode. If you’ve seen it already, you know what I mean. If you haven’t, I don’t want to spoil it for you. Well, I do. But I won’t.

Anyway. If you are one of the handful of the people on the planet who haven’t seen Downton Abbey, you really need to. Really.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. It looks like a lot of Kleenex will be needed 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

