RSS Feed

Can It Get Any Better?


I sat down to write to this post and realized it’s been longer than I thought since I last visited with y’all. Sorry for the unexplained disappearance!

I guess it’s a good thing that it is “living life” that has gotten in the way of the blog. Sometimes I feel like I spend too much of my life on the computer, but at least for the last nearly two weeks, I sure haven’t!

I have this little reminder on the wall in my hoard/art/scrapbook room.

8-22-15-1

Guess it’s working!

Nah, I’ve just been really busy and focused on doing what I NEED to be doing – getting the kids where they need to be when they need to be there, helping my daughter-in-law get moved into her new house, and TRYING to get enough sleep!

My new calendar has been getting a workout.

51ZX1zGdKiL._SX412_BO1,204,203,200_

If you haven’t seen this, it’s pretty cool. It has a monthly calendar, then weekly pages that break the days down into morning, afternoon and evening, to track the comings and goings for mom and up to 4 kids (or other people – and in this case, 4 kids is how many I need to track!) I’m finding it very useful.

I’ll talk more about that later. This post is about something way more important than a calendar.

Gratitude. Contentment. The realization that if life never gets any better than it is right now, I’ll die a happy woman.

Do you ever have one of those days? When, even though little in your life is perfect – your house is a mess, there are projects lined up that will consume all your waking hours for the foreseeable future and beyond, sometimes the kids can be cranky,  you can’t stand to look at yourself in the mirror, and Lord knows the world seems to be coming apart at the seams – you are CONTENT?

I’m having one of those. And I wanted to take a moment to acknowledge it, and even luxuriate in it.

It’s not that I had all these amazing things planned for the day.

I just needed a pedicure (badly) and wanted to run across town to try to find a certain tile I’m looking for for a project. That’s it.

I was alone in the nail salon, so I got the queen’s treatment. The usual quick mani/pedi turned into a relaxing massage for my arms, legs and shoulders – I nearly fell asleep. And, yes, the headache I woke up with disappeared.

From there I headed to Re-create, a non-profit place to find recycled craft supplies. They have tons of stuff that would normally end up in the trash – not necessarily good enough to go to a second hand store, but usable for someone for something. I’d gotten some metal tiles there the day I started my first mosaic monogram. Now that I’m doing six more for family members (yes, 6) I was hoping to find more. And, YAY! They had some left. So that was a successful visit.

I was going to head home, but decided to stop at one of my favorite healthy food restaurants for a decadent treat – a peanut butter cup frozen concoction, that isn’t peanut butter at all, but almond butter, dark cacao, and other healthy deliciousness. I sat out front for a moment and took a photo of it, and noticed my painted toes in the background.

8-22-15-2-w

It was a few moments later as I drove in the car that the thought crossed my mind that it doesn’t really take much to make me the kind of happy that makes it out of my sub-conscience and into the forefront of my mind. That in itself makes me happy.

But the happy day didn’t end there. I was going right by one of my favorite gift shops – Rod Works. They have two locations – one close to my house, and a larger second location (the one I was close to, and rarely get to visit.) I was anxious to see what was new, and it didn’t disappoint. I looked around for an hour, and even treated myself to a couple of little treasures.

They’re for my travel wall, and I’ll save that for later as well.

So.

I know it is subject to change at any moment, but right now, I’m lovin’ life, and I just want to take note of it. I’m a lucky girl in that I have way more than enough, and that I’m smart enough to appreciate it. I have a friend who says all the time she’s overpaid. That’s how I’m feeling today. Overpaid.

Hope you are, too!

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

