RSS Feed

Housework, Done Properly, Can Kill You


Maybe a little bit of an exaggeration, but not much.

I confess. Housework is not one of my favorite things to do. Never has been, never will be.

“You get the whole house cleaned up, then 6 months later, you have to do it all over again!”

(That’s a joke!)

Don’t get me wrong, I LIKE a clean house. If it looked company ready every single day, I would be thrilled. I just don’t want it badly enough to be willing to spend the time on doing it.

When I was a stay at home mom I tried system after system to stay on top of it. None of them ever worked for more than a few days. I could never make it a priority (Cleaning your house while the children are growing is like shoveling snow while it is still snowing!) And besides, I’d tell myself, it’s clean enough to be healthy, messy enough to be happy! I’d always promise myself I’d do better when the kids got a little older.

Then when I went back to work, I treated myself to a housekeeper. She was an angel. But I felt so guilty about her having to work so hard that I dashed around cleaning house before she got there! Heeheehee! (Well, actually, I probably wanted to keep myself from being embarrassed that we were such pigs!) But at any rate, I did almost everything except the floors before she arrived. I guess it was still worthwhile, because at least I knew the house would be cleaned at least one day a week! Had she not been coming, I doubt I would have been able to say that!

Now that I’m retired (even though I watch my grandchildren 5 days a week, so it’s ALMOST like working!) I can’t seem to justify it.

I wish I could tell you that this is post about 10 ways to keep your house company ready every day. But it’s not. It’s a post about giving up. No kidding.

My solution to the problem is I just try not to notice. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

There are a few things I’m anal about. I hate dishes in the sink, so I’m pretty good about keeping up on them. I’m also pretty good about keeping up on the laundry. And, actually, Mr. Tattered helps with both from time to time. But beds and dusting? Forget it.

Clutter is a big issue. Somehow, we both manage not to pick up after ourselves on a daily basis. With just the two of us, you’d think it wouldn’t be that big of a deal. Part of the problem is that we both like having things we need to deal with out where we can see them. And the kitchen table seems to be the repository for most of it. And if THAT looks awful, the whole room looks awful, so why bother cleaning anything?

My biggest hate however, is floors. I just HATE cleaning the tile floors. And if anyone has them, you know how terrible they look if you let them go. I can’t just seem to make myself do it until they get to the disgusting stage. Which was where it was this morning.

Every once in awhile, it all gets to be too much, and I HAVE to tackle it. Today was one of those days. But I had other things I REALLY wanted to do. So, I picked the smallest, easiest room to clean (the laundry room) and cleaned the whole thing – wiped down appliances and baseboards, swept the floor, put away things that had accumulated on the counter, and even did a load of wash. Then I swept the kitchen floor and ran a rag over it – more of a lick and a promise than a good cleaning. Whew! Fortunately that was enough to make the urge to clean pass.

I keep thinking I’m going to figure out a system that will help me get a better handle on it, but I’m not holding my breath. I’ve lived this long without it being a priority. I’m thinking I might make it through the rest of my life the way I am.

That’s a depressing thought. Maybe I’ll keep trying.

 

 

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. Hilarious!!! I’d say you need a once-a-month housekeeper, just to clean the floors, kitchen, and bathrooms. You totally deserve that. 🙂

    Reply
    • I probably do. We just let the gardener go since we’re going to natural vegetation. I could probably justify once a month. But I would just clean before she got here…I’m hopeless.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

