RSS Feed

Woohoo! The “F” Is Finally Done!


I love, love, love doing mosaics, and my first project, my large “F” is finally done.

It took many, many hours to complete and lots of trial and error, but I finally finished.

I have to take a moment to thank my friend Janet for encouraging me to give mosaics a shot. She knew I was interested, but also knew I needed a little push! If it wasn’t for her, I don’t know that I EVER would have tried.

So.

I started with a big wooden letter, and began adhering ceramic tiles cut to size. The heart was done with one of kitchen plates that Mr. Tattered killed months ago. I loved the color, so I saved it, just in case I ever decided to try doing a mosaic.

beginmosaic2-w

This was all I had to show for HOURS of work. It really was a lot harder than I thought it would be. I am so glad that I liked it from the get-go, because it would have been easy to quit and toss the big “F” onto my pile of unfinished projects.

mosaic1-w

My second session went faster, as I learned short cuts and was a little more sure of myself.

mosaicprogress5-w

With each day I worked on it, I fell more in love with not only it, but the whole process.

mosaic6:20-1-w

I got braver and braver with interesting elements, and seriously, the more things I added, the more I loved it.

 

Finally I had the entire letter covered with tiles, beads and other elements, and was ready to grout.

F7:242-w

When it got time to do the grout, I got really nervous. The idea of ruining it at this stage was just scary. But, I was determined to finish it, so I pushed ahead. I determined that a thick grout wasn’t going to work since the tiles were so close together. So I thinned it way down, and used a squirt bottle to get the grout down into the spaces, and a wet paper towel to wipe the excess grout from the face of the tiles.

It went a lot faster than I thought it would, and although it wasn’t my favorite part of the process, it wasn’t as bad as I’d feared it would be.

F7:245-w

Grouting finished, all it needed was to have a few finishing elements glued on, and it was complete!

F2-w

 

F4-w

 

F1-w

 

 

F5-w

 

F3-w

It needs just a tiny bit of clean up, wiping down the tiles, cleaning grout out of a few little places, but by and large, it’s ready to hang!

Technically I’m sure there are plenty of flaws, but for a first effort I am more thrilled with it than anything I’ve ever done, and can hardly wait to start the next one!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

