RSS Feed

Musings on my Staycation!


I know most people think of a staycation as a time to explore their own community, rather than going to another town to vacation.

The staycation calling to me was to do something completely different than I usually do – spend 3 whole days doing whatever I wanted to do, no preconceived plans or goals, just going with whatever it was I was interested in at the moment.

Crazy, huh?

I could have shopped myself silly, or vegged out in front of the tv. But, no. I cleaned house, worked on my mosaic, did laundry, cleaned out drawers, sorted scrapbook supplies, put the new cushions on the patio chairs. For hours and hours and hours I did nothing but what I WANTED to do…Heeheehee! It was heavenly. And I believe, for a very short period of time, I achieved the balance that seems to be so elusive in my life!

Today was day 3, and most of it was spent tying up loose strings, putting the finishing touches on projects started yesterday.

But I did play, too. My mosaic is coming along nicely. I’m loving the different elements I’ve been using – especially the beads I added today. This may turn out to be quite addictive. And therapeutic. There is a certain pleasure derived from smashing ceramic material and chopping it into little pieces, then arranging it into patterns – sorta.

mosaicprogress5-w

mosaicprogress2-w

mosaicprogress4-w

I went ahead and cleaned up all the tile materials (that was sad…) It’ll be awhile before I have time to get back to it, and when I do it will be nice to start with a clean workspace. I sure do make a mess!

I also spent a little bit of time laying out the ribbons and photos for the girl’s swim team frames. I’ll wait for mama’s approval before gluing them down.

mosaicprogress1-w

And I even put together a pan of enchiladas so Mr. Tattered won’t starve, and finally made the decision to banish they gray in my hair!

So, for all intents and purposes my little staycation is over. I have a few more hours tomorrow before I have a bit of kid duties then head to the airport to pick up my man.

I missed him, and I wouldn’t like being alone all the time, but it was nice to have a few days worth of free time to get myself kinda jump-started. I feel so accomplished!  And I loved learning that I am NOT a total slug, that when faced with time to do whatever I wanted to do, I chose a mix of things that all fed my soul in one way or another.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

2 responses »

  1. I would just like to say that I think you are awesome. Really.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

