RSS Feed

3 Day Stay-ca-tion


Well, I am on day one of a 3 day “stay-ca-tion,” a mini vacation where I get to stay home all by myself with no adult supervision! I haven’t had one of those for a VERY long time, and I hardly know what to do with myself!

I dropped Mr. Tattered off at the airport this morning, then I was on my own.

When the girls were little and we went out wandering, they would ask where we were going, and I’d say “wherever the wind takes us.” That was me today, going where the wind took me.

My first stop was to a stamp store I just love and don’t get to very often. Yes, I was fully prepared to break my self-imposed stamp acquisition moratorium. But guess what? I didn’t. I looked, but I didn’t find anything I wanted badly enough. Whew!

I tried and tried to think of somewhere else I wanted to go, something else I wanted to acquire, but I couldn’t come up with anything, so I headed home. And then it hit me…what I wanted to do was to go home and create!

So I spent the rest of the afternoon working on my mosaic. Remember the one I started almost 2 weeks ago, and haven’t touched since? I really, really, like doing mosaics, but jeez they are slow going! I spent 6 hours getting from here:

beginmosaic2-w

to here:

mosaic1-w

 

I thought my first day was slow because I didn’t know how to cut the tiles, and was slow at glueing, but I felt much faster today. It still took forever, thus validating my thought that my garden is NOT going to be full of mosaics!

But, it was a fun use of my first day. Now I’m going to do some actual work around here. Hadn’t planned on that, but since the urge has struck, I’m going with it!

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

