RSS Feed

Must. Keep. Creating.


There are many ways to be creative, and there are often times when I expand the definition of “creative” to allow myself to feel like I’ve BEEN creative.

But the older I get, the less that “rationalized” version of creativity is satisfying me.

Yeah, I’m busy, no doubt about that. For all intents and purposes, I’m working full time (although caring for my grandchildren is way more fun than a REAL job!) But even so, with a little advanced planning, I still have time to create every day. Or at least I should. Maybe not a whole project at once. But I can do something.

The trick is going to be to have whatever it is laid out and broken down into bite-sized, and hopefully portable, bits.

Which is yet another reason why I need to get the art room (or, more appropriately, the “hoard room” as Hannah calls it!) organized to the point where actual work can be done in there! The worktable is fairly good-sized. If I could just keep it clear enough to have 2 or 3 projects set up at a time, I’d be fine. I could pop in even when I only have half an hour and get SOMETHING done. As it is, by the time I get something out and ready to work on, the half hour is gone.

One place where I CAN rationally expand my definition of creativity is to include “fixing” or “refurbishing” things. I’ve got a bunch of those projects waiting in the wings, and if I have any hope of getting them done, I’m going to need to play some mind games with them!

So. Time to get a list going, and start tackling it with the fervor of an inspired artist. Maybe I can even enlist the grandkids aid in some of them! Now there’s a thought.

Hahahaha! Just reminded myself that the whole point of this year’s word (ignite!) was to get those projects done! Guess I haven’t been checking in on my word often enough. Oooooops.

About tatterednworn

I am a woman who has committed to living a creative life.

Leave a Reply

